Sky dish and free view through same PVR?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Soobruce, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. Soobruce

    Soobruce
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Hoping someone can help me sort my Dad’s problem. They have a Sky dish and a free view aerial and a hugely complicated array of boxes to connect it all to the TV and a PVR. The PVR has stopped working properly, so they want a new one.

    Ideal would be one PVR where they can record from the dish and the aerial (probably not at the same time - just simpler to only have one.

    Is that possible?

    They have no paid Sky channels, but there are a couple of channels they can only get on the Sky box (including ITV I think) and a couple they can only get on Freeview (they live in a very hilly part of the country and tv reception has always been touch and go) hence them needing to use the aerial and the dish.

    Any ideas or advice for a simple set up gratefully received.
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,119
    The only boxes that can combine satellite and terrestrial tuners into one box are going to be generic free to air boxes that will be complex to maintain the channel lists.

    Freesat and Freeview kit do this automatically. Your best bet is a new Freesat TV which will also have Freeview-HD. These can also record to a usb hard disk. Do they have broadband internet ?
     
  3. Soobruce

    Soobruce
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Graham. Re broadband: they officially have broadband, but like a lot of remote locations it’s pretty slow. Maybe up to 1mbps.
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,119
    Might be just fast enough for iplayer

    Freesat TV's

    https://www.freesat.co.uk/get-freesat/televisions/
     
  5. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +211
    Look into Enigma2 boxes will do what you want and will then be able to share around the house with kodi on android boxes.

    Something like a ET8500 will give you 2 sat tuners and 2 terrestrial tuners (which could all record at the same time).

    Series recording etc is simple.

    To setup in the first place takes a bit of effort but once done it will update itself
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice