1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ disc problem?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Mr Ed, Jul 3, 2004.

  1. Mr Ed

    Mr Ed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    South Manchester
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    We have a Sky+ v2 box that is about 7 months old and I've noticed that the available disc space doesn't tally with the % used on the recorded programs.

    Currently, we have 2 programs recorded of 1 hour each, totalling 8% of disc space used, but the free disc space is indicated at 66%. I know that the instant rewind (set at 30 mins) will use a couple of %, but we appear to be missing about a quarter of our disc space.

    When new, we had free disc space in the 90%'s in these situations.

    Have we got a problem that I need to talk to my satellite man about or is this something else beyond my control?

    Cheers,

    Ed.
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is a common fault that can be cured by a full system reset. Watch all the programmes you want to first as they will be erased in the process. Press "Services" then 4,0,1 "Select" on your remote, which should bring up a hidden menu which allows you to access it (Option 7). Wait for it to finish and wait a further minute once it has switched itself off.

    Hope this helps :)

    p.s. Check all your settings afterwards such as instand rewind times and record buffers.
     
  3. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    I wouldn't say this was 'a common fault'. The HD just needs to be 'defragged' as it would on your PC. It's basic maintenance really.

    RCT's solution will cure it.

    A. Dork
     
  4. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    AFAIK it isn't a defragmentation issue, space would not be "lost" in this case, access times would merely increase. As for common, it has been in my experience I've had to do this or explain this to several friends' Sky+ units. I've had to reset my own Sky+ boxes 3 times for the same fault.
     
  5. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    I'm no computer expert, so I could be wrong. Thought it was a pretty decent explanation myself though. If anyone can come up with a definitive reason for this 'fault' and prove me wrong I would be happy to learn. ;)

    Whatever the cause - as I said, RCT's solution will cure it.

    A. Dork
     
  6. Mr Ed

    Mr Ed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    South Manchester
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks! Back to 100%.

    Ed.
     
  7. Lawe

    Lawe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well thats answers my question I was going to ask!
    However, a quick question to ask is, if I do a full reset, will I lose all the pre-planned recordings and series links that I have lined up?
     
  8. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Lawe - Yes!

    A. Dork
     
  9. Lawe

    Lawe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought as much :suicide:
    Cheers mate. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...