1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Digital Questions

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by donjayok, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. donjayok

    donjayok
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have had sky digital now for about a year and yesterday I got it wired up to my bedroom in another part of the house which works perfectly.

    My question is, Is it possibly to view different sky digital channels at the same time in the different rooms?

    A friend put me onto the following website, but he wasn't sure if you could watch different channels or not.

    Sky Accessories

    With reference to the products on the above website, am I correct in saying that If I bought the TV/Link magic eye product, then I would be able to change the sky channels from the bedroom, but it would also change it in the living room.

    And if I bought the 4 way amps with IR product, then would I be able to watch Sky digital or Terrestrial channels on one or both TV's? Where would it be situated? At the Sky box?

    Thanx in advance for any replies, much appreciated and sorry for being stupid! I am just learning! :rolleyes: :)
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Your sky box can tune to 1 channel at a time. This will be the one watched no matter which room you are in, and no matter how many rooms you've got wired. You can arrange to change channels from any room. You should be able to watch terrestial TV independently with that device, and also any terrestial channel on any TV, and 1 sky channel on any TV, at the same time.
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,439
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,028
    As above says only one channel at a time.
    It is like having a radio connected by speakers in other rooms, only one station/ frequency can be tuned into one at a time.
     
  4. donjayok

    donjayok
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanx very much guys .........expertly explained! :smashin:
     
  5. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    you need a separate box to view another channel in another room
     
  6. SignalMan

    SignalMan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    Sky Plus will give you up to 3 rooms with different channels but can prove expensive, tho I think Sky are doing away with some charges from next month
     

Share This Page

Loading...