SKY+ Digital Output

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by TheDufster, Aug 22, 2002.

  1. TheDufster

    TheDufster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am considering getting SKY+ (altough I just phoned them to try and get the £199 deal and they said they knew nothing about it), however my question relates to the digital output on the back of the SKY+ box.

    I have a 5.1 Amp (Sony STRDB1070) which has only one digital COAX type input, the others are the 'squarer' type sockets. Is this compatible with the SKY+ digital output?

    Thanks
     
  2. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +216
    The Sky+ box has a single optical digital output. I think this will be the square inputs on your Sony amp.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  3. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes.
     
  4. caziain

    caziain
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I also have a 1070 and the output from Sky+ is indeed optical and works perfectly with the Sony.
     
  5. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I take it you still need phono's for everyday viewing/listening via your amp and the optical is only for 5.1 broadcasts ?
     
  6. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,989
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    You can use the optical out for all sound from Sky. In fact it will improve even stereo sound because the feed stays digital for longer.
     
  7. Choddo

    Choddo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "improve" stereo sound?! That's the understatement of the century. Considering the DAC in my Sony 930 is probably about 10 times better than that in the standard digibox, plus as you say, the reduction in analog connections & cabling, the difference in stereo sound is absolutely amazing.

    I haven't watched anything transmitted in 5.1 yet, but I look forward to it.
     
  8. Beefer

    Beefer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had SKY+ for a few months now but only just connected it to my amp (due to decorating! ahhhhh) via the optical digital feed.

    Switched it on one evening while X-men was showing on sky P W/S in DD5.1 and was blown away! Excellent :)

    Scott
     
  9. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0


    So can I get rid of the analogue connections completely then?
     
  10. Choddo

    Choddo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, the only reason I use them at all now is for the sound from my Gamecube which has no digital out but does support DPL2

    Chods
     

Share This Page

Loading...