Sky+ Digital Out

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Jon Baker, Sep 24, 2001.

  1. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ditto the audio setup.

    I think I have seen some lip sync problems but I just assumed it was the source material.

    Have you tried switching back to normal to see if the lip sync is ok ?

    Have you tried an analogue connection ?
     
  2. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Jon,

    I put my audio setting back to normal and the lip sync seems fine again.

    I think some material can be borderline to begin with and adding any extra delay can make it cross the threshold where it becomes really noticable.

    As a test I was going to try comparing the analogue out through the tv speakers against the digital out through the hi-fi and see if I could hear the delay and if there was any difference between the "Normal" and "Dolby Digital" settings. I'll give that a try later and post the results tomorrow.

    Ronnie
     
  3. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Has anyone else tried setting their Sky+ box to output Dolby Digital ?

    I thought I'd try it to see if the box would output PCM if there wasn't a Dolby Digital signal being transmitted and sure enough it did. My reasoning being that I could then leave the box in DD mode and automatically get the benefit whenever the transmissions start.

    However - and I might be imagining things here - it seems that when I do this I can notice a slight lipsync error. The audio seems to be delayed slightly with respect to the picture.

    Considering that Dolby Digital isn't offically available yet I'm not complaining - I just wondered if anyone else could see this.

    Hopefully, even if I'm not imagining things and the lipsync problem is there, a software update before the official launch of DD will be all that's needed (my Sky+ box has already updated itself at least once).

    Ronnie
     
  4. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to see lipsync errors on my old digibox but it depended on the channel. I've watched a lot of CNN recently and that IS bad, also Eurosport can be a bugger at times.

    I'll have a close look tonight. Yes, I have left mine at Dolby D setting so my amp is only seeing PCM at the moment.
     
  5. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've all got better eyesight than me, I cannot spot it (and therefore I'm happy), but don't deny it could exist to the more critical eye.
     
  6. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried comparing the two settings again last night and have to admit that I couldn't see any difference between them. Both settings seemed fine so I left the box set to output Dolby Digital whenever it starts.

    The last time I tried was when I got the Sky+ box installed last Tuesday and since then it's definitely received an upgrade of at least the EPG.

    I'm pretty sure the problem was there when I first tried it but as long as it's not there now I'm not complaining <img src="smile.gif" border="0">

    Sorry about the wild goose chase.

    Ronnie
     
  7. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know whether a fault has developed, it's morphic resonance, or just plain suggestibility, but during some programmes, mouths were moving differently from the sound.<br />I couldn't be clear what direction this was in as I have the option of altering the lip-synch on my processor. I also am not sure if it will vary much from programme to programme.<br />It reminds me of the early problems with DVDs, although not as bad.<br />After all the installation problems, the cost, we can now look forward to finding all the bugs.<br />Perhaps this is due to a software upgrade?<br />Whatever, it is there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice