Sky+ Digital Out

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Jon Baker, Sep 24, 2001.

  1. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ditto the audio setup.

    I think I have seen some lip sync problems but I just assumed it was the source material.

    Have you tried switching back to normal to see if the lip sync is ok ?

    Have you tried an analogue connection ?
     
  2. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Jon,

    I put my audio setting back to normal and the lip sync seems fine again.

    I think some material can be borderline to begin with and adding any extra delay can make it cross the threshold where it becomes really noticable.

    As a test I was going to try comparing the analogue out through the tv speakers against the digital out through the hi-fi and see if I could hear the delay and if there was any difference between the "Normal" and "Dolby Digital" settings. I'll give that a try later and post the results tomorrow.

    Ronnie
     
  3. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Has anyone else tried setting their Sky+ box to output Dolby Digital ?

    I thought I'd try it to see if the box would output PCM if there wasn't a Dolby Digital signal being transmitted and sure enough it did. My reasoning being that I could then leave the box in DD mode and automatically get the benefit whenever the transmissions start.

    However - and I might be imagining things here - it seems that when I do this I can notice a slight lipsync error. The audio seems to be delayed slightly with respect to the picture.

    Considering that Dolby Digital isn't offically available yet I'm not complaining - I just wondered if anyone else could see this.

    Hopefully, even if I'm not imagining things and the lipsync problem is there, a software update before the official launch of DD will be all that's needed (my Sky+ box has already updated itself at least once).

    Ronnie
     
  4. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to see lipsync errors on my old digibox but it depended on the channel. I've watched a lot of CNN recently and that IS bad, also Eurosport can be a bugger at times.

    I'll have a close look tonight. Yes, I have left mine at Dolby D setting so my amp is only seeing PCM at the moment.
     
  5. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've all got better eyesight than me, I cannot spot it (and therefore I'm happy), but don't deny it could exist to the more critical eye.
     
  6. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried comparing the two settings again last night and have to admit that I couldn't see any difference between them. Both settings seemed fine so I left the box set to output Dolby Digital whenever it starts.

    The last time I tried was when I got the Sky+ box installed last Tuesday and since then it's definitely received an upgrade of at least the EPG.

    I'm pretty sure the problem was there when I first tried it but as long as it's not there now I'm not complaining <img src="smile.gif" border="0">

    Sorry about the wild goose chase.

    Ronnie
     
  7. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know whether a fault has developed, it's morphic resonance, or just plain suggestibility, but during some programmes, mouths were moving differently from the sound.<br />I couldn't be clear what direction this was in as I have the option of altering the lip-synch on my processor. I also am not sure if it will vary much from programme to programme.<br />It reminds me of the early problems with DVDs, although not as bad.<br />After all the installation problems, the cost, we can now look forward to finding all the bugs.<br />Perhaps this is due to a software upgrade?<br />Whatever, it is there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...