Sky Digital and high winds

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by RMCF, Feb 21, 2002.

  1. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    7,025
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +632
    We have been having some fairly strong winds over the last few days and I noticed that I am getting artefacting and lip sync problems with my picture when there is a gust. Is this common to minidishs or does mine need tightened?
     
  2. paiger

    paiger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depends how exposed it is to gusts. It may need tightening but I doubt it, it's probably just in a place where the wind hits it. Ha ve a look around and see if there is a better place for it.
     
  3. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    It could be your dish is being moved by the wind, or maybe if it's mounted on a tallish pole, the pole is flexing under the wind. Other things, like a big tree being blown could interfere if it gets blown across where the dish is looking at.
     
  4. delta

    delta
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too, but not just the wind, the rain frequently causes loss of signal, something that never happens on ITV Digital.
     
  5. Neil69

    Neil69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've had problems with Sky News when it was very windy, the picture kept freezing. It was just like a dirty DVD. Everything's OK now the wind's died down.


    Neil
    :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:
     
  6. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    7,025
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +632
    I have never had a problem with rain, no matter how heavy. Its just this week with the wind, but admittedly it is damn strong!! I spoke to my installer and he assures me that it is as tight as it'll go. He says that if it shakes by 1cm it will cause the picture to go. Mine is on the back wall of my house about 15ft up. And there are no houses around - nothing to break up the wind. Ah well, it not that often we get winds like that. Just one of the limitations of satellite TV.
     
  7. paiger

    paiger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, it's a great platform but you can't do the impossible and 99% of the time we don't have weather like that. I must say that my dish is sheltered so never gets affected by gales.
     
  8. Andrew_arkless

    Andrew_arkless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    A had a few problems (with rain) about 3 or so break ups within a month, I got sky back out and he found that the original installer had made a bodge of putting the plug onto the cable from the dish, he changed the plug & it upped the single strength by a small amount - since then ive only had 1 weather problem in 15months. It may be worth checking out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...