Sky Digibox

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by elite_uk, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. elite_uk

    elite_uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all, I live with my parents and they have sky (Just normal sky no +) and what ever they watch I can view it in my own room, but Iv just got my new 32" LCD and want sky for my self so I can get the best picture possible using the connections on the back of the sky box but I just looked at the back of there box and it only has two scarts no HDMI Connectivity ect. So I just looked on the sky website for the multi-room boxs but they look basic and was just wondering what sort of connections it takes on the back of the box?

    Thanks
     
  2. xxxx

    xxxx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +23
    All Sky boxes have identical connections except the Sky+ which has an optical audio output and an S-Video connection. Some old Grundigs also have an S-Video output and Sony digiboxes have an optical audio output too. So RGB scart is the best you will get from any Sky box.

    For HDMI or component you will have to wait for Sky HD.

    There is no special multiroom box. Sky's website shows a box that is no longer made.
     
  3. elite_uk

    elite_uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just looked for a made on the front of the living room box and it says Amstrad which iv read poor. Trying to persuade my parents to get Sky+ means I can get a better multi-room box or not? What multi-room box will I get and is it just the same as the normal one?

    Thanks
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    You won't.
    If your parents go ahead and get Sky+ the old Amstrad box (which is theirs) becomes the Multiroom box.
     
  5. xxxx

    xxxx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +23
    Which part of "there is no special multiroom box" wasn't clear?
    All current Sky digiboxes have the same sockets and have identical functions. You will get the brand they happen to have on the van.

    Only the Sky+ has any extra sockets and even they aren't ones that you want for your screen.

    One point though, if your parents get Sky+ then for the same £10 extra for multiroom you could have a Sky+ too.
     
  6. elite_uk

    elite_uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    now that rounds like an idea, I didnt see that option on there site...but I'll get onto cheers
     
  7. xxxx

    xxxx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +23
    You'll need to pay for the box but as far as the monthly extra cost goes it's a good deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...