Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

sky+ DD hook-up

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by rats, Dec 1, 2003.

  1. rats

    rats
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi people. I`ve recently had sky+ installed, (no complaints as yet) and was wondering if I can connect it to my sony str-db930 receiver to get the benefit of dolby digital sound, and which is the best way to connect, as there are a couple of spare optical connectors.? :confused:
     
  2. scarty16

    scarty16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +304
    the sky + box has an optical output, connect it up to the optical input of teh sony and go into the menu of teh sky box and change it over to dolby digital.

    you need movies of disney channel to test whether it is working correctly though
     
  3. rats

    rats
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi scarty, which is the best optical connection on the receiver to hook up to, or can you use any. ??
     
  4. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Use either.
     
  5. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does the SKY+ only have optical output?

    I have 1 x Optical and 1 x Coax, I'm using the Optical for my DVD player connection and was hoping sky would have Digital Coax output.

    Thanks
     
  6. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes indeedy, but you can buy an optical > coax convertor.
     
  7. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's alright then.

    Thanks for quick reply mate.
     
  8. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +344
    Also rats you may as well use an S-video lead to connect from your receiver to your Sony, thats if you haven't already!! At least then it will improve your picture as well.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice