Sky - Communal Dish Issue

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by chrisherd89, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have recently moved into a flat and I know it has a communal dish. There is a single dish mounted on the side of the property with 6 or so satellite cables running down into a large plastic box - which I assume to be a distribution box to each of the flats. I do not know why wires simply don't run directly from the dish into each of the 3/4 flats directly. What's the need for this box? I have seen the direct method on nearby flats.

    I spoke to my letting agent and they informed me the management company needs to 'switch me on to the communal dish'.

    Now the crux of my question - in the flat there are only RF points. I have actually taken the wall plates off to check for any satellite points connected to the communal dish - there aren't any. So, what does this switch mean? Is it at all feasible that I will be able to receive sky via the RF point once 'switched'?

    I am confused as there definitely is a dish, and it's communal, but I cannot see how it comes in to the flat nor what this supposed switch is.

    Thanks in advance
    Chris
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    It's possible but why not ask a neighbour or the agent?:rolleyes:
     
  3. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just because the agent takes a long while to respond as he needs to speak to the landlord. Also, have asked the neighbours. No one pays for sky.
     
  4. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,572
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,328
    Sorry we are not psychic, more info required - there are several possibilities here.
    Is there only a single cable to the wallplates?
    How many wallplates in the flat?
    Do the wallplates have more than one output?
    Is the connector a Belling Lee (standard aerial plug) type?
    Is there a communal TV aerial?
    Have you connected it to the aerial input on your TV - if so what happened?
    Do the neighbours have Freesat or any other type of satellite reception?
    The switch is probably a multiswitch which is used to distribute the satellite signals and possibly also a terrestrial aerial signal down the same cabling as the satellite signal.
     
  5. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. There is only one cable to wall plates which are standard aerial and there is only one output. I did try to connect to the tv when I first moved in and nothing happened.

    I also tried to use an RF to sky converter via the sky box and this did nothing.
     
  6. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,572
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,328
    What do you mean by this - is it a Belling Lee plug at one end and a F(screw on) connector at the other end of a cable?
     
  7. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's exactly it
     
  8. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    That was an either/or question. Not a yes/no one.:facepalm:
     
  9. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - it is belling lee at one end and F at the other.

    I have just checked and there is a digitial tv signal
     
  10. chrisherd89

    chrisherd89
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome - cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice