1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ coax cable... will RG59 do ?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ctcrm, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. ctcrm

    ctcrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all, Im waiting for sky's engineer to install sky+ and multi room which I want inside a bedroom wardrobe.

    My plan is to install all the cables to the boxes and dish so the engineer only has to connect up with no fuss and no visible cable.

    I install cctv for a living and have gallons of RG59 coax cable which has an air spaced core and is 75Ω, ive noticed the sat cable has a solid insulator between the main conductor and braid.

    Can I use my cable for the install ???

    Regards

    Paul
     
  2. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309
  3. ctcrm

    ctcrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    yes cctv, not sat !!

    i have no idea what that requires, but thanks i will check that link!
     
  4. ctcrm

    ctcrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    hmme thats pretty much inconclusive...
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The specs of RG59 vary from maufacturer to manufacturer, so compatablity for satellite TV use cannot be guaranteed. CT100 is made to a much tighter spec for that particular job.
     
  6. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309
    I would have thought it was very conclusive. RG59 doesn't even get a mention because it's not satellite cable.
     
  7. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    RG59 is almost the same spec as PSF 1/3. I've used 1/3 many times, and worked well... If you work in CCTV, then you have the cable available to "suck it and see".

    Gareth.
     
  8. ctcrm

    ctcrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ill make a patch lead tomorrow and see for myself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...