1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ Can some one explain?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by G1OSE, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. G1OSE

    G1OSE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok i want to get sky and have been looking at the best options for me and i still dont get what the best thing to do is

    i have used Sky+ and both me and the missus like the ease of use as in press to record and it does press the green?? button to record a program in the future and it records when your out easy as well as the series link

    Can any of this be done with normal dvd hard drive recorder? and please dont say yes you can record as i no this i want to know about the ease and the menu systems?

    whats my best option i will be:
    recording from sky
    recording from camcorder
    recording some vhs but not many
    need RGB component connection if poss (i no not on sky boxes)

    do i buy sky+ £99-£149 and dvd recorder £200 odd
    buy sky+ and dvd hard drive recorder for editing croping progs £350 odd
    buy normal sky and dvd recorder
    buy normal sky and dvd hard drive recorder?

    whats the best option for me and the missus!

    thanks
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,882
    That's what I have and would recommend you go for if you can spare the cash!
     
  3. G1OSE

    G1OSE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    well as its a first house i cant really justify it unless it gives me something extra that the £££ seems worth it

    preferably if it can be done i would just get sky and a dvd hd recorder if the programming side was as easy as sky+ thats what im trying to find out from someone who has done it anyone???

    out of curiosity what do you have?
     
  4. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You only need a HDD/DVDR combo if you intend to archive a dvd collection(even camcorder stuff).This enable you to perfectly edit all your material in a way simply not possible with a dvdonly recorder.
    And for recording from Sky nothing beats Sky+.As good as a HDD/DVD combo is,it won't allow you to watch one channel while you record another.It won't allow you to record 2 channels at the same time(and watch an earlier recording aswell).It won't remove those annoying red dots completely.It won't record 5.1.
    I would get Sky+ and as cash is tight,Richer Sounds are offering the Pioneer 420 HDD/DVD combo for only £269
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,882
    I have the Toshiba RD-XS30 HDD DVDR and now Sky+
    I had Sky digital and used the autoview feature to program the timer recordings and just used the timer on the Tosh to switch on to the AV2 channel at the same time.
    I am bowled over by the ease of use and user friendly Sky+
    The RD-XS30 has been replaced by the RD-XS32 (and now RD-XS34)
     
  6. G1OSE

    G1OSE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok so im thinking Sky+ and cheap dvd/hdd recorder
    would love the pioneer at that price but was looking for Component rgb connection and possibly not essential a sd card slot for my digi cam i know this limits it to Panasonic but RGB component connection is the must any recomendations?

    cheers all
     
  7. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panny will do the job,but unless you wait for the new range(higher price) you will lose -RW and the Disc Cloning feature of a Pioneer(useful for quickly doing replicas of those camcorder dvd's for other people-if you don't have a PC rewriter).
     
  8. G1OSE

    G1OSE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    so do the new ones do that replicating or is it just pioneer?
    worth the wait or not?? Freeview??

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...