Sky Cabling

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by gsy67, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. gsy67

    gsy67
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :mad:
    Hello to one and all.
    Can anyone give me a bit of information please?
    Woke up this morning to find out some bright spark had decided to snap my SKY Cable running from my dish, into my property.
    At least, that's what it looks like.
    As it may be an act of vandalism and not done accidentally, Sky want to charge me £65 to replace it.
    The cabling, that is.
    Can you believe it?
    May end up doing it myself but wanted to confirm the exact type of cabling I need to use.
    Is there different types of coaxial to choose from?
    If so, what is the best?
    Can you put a smile back on my face? :(
    Please help.
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    Sorry to hear about your problem. Have they actually cut the cable or simply pulled it from the LNB. If you want to replace the cable then use somthing like H109 or WF100 - http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page8.htm or you could consider rejoining the cable with a couple of F-connectors and an F barrel but as it'll be outdoors remember to weatherproof this with some self-amalgamating tape.
     
  3. gsy67

    gsy67
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey,

    thanks for the reply.
    The wire has just been cut through.
    Looking at it, it looks more as if it has been pulled, stetched untill it snapped.
    Not sure if that's better than having it pulled from the LNB.
    I will check that link and hopefully all will be well.
    Soon I hope,
    The other half is moaning about missing "Most Haunted" already.

    Cheers. :thumbsup:
     
  4. FRANTIC FRANC

    FRANTIC FRANC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +86
    Better to replace the whole cable back to the dish than use the f barrel connector as it is sure to play up in the future!

    Just buy CT100 or equivelent cable such as H109F, as long as you don't use cheaper aluminium screened cable you should be ok. You can buy it from most satellite suppliers or on that well known auction site! You can also buy an LNB weather boot also available on that well known auction site to seal the connection at the dish.
    Cheers, Franc
     
  5. gsy67

    gsy67
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks FF.

    Will look at that also.
    Will check out the famous site also.

    Thank You.

    :clap:
     
  6. gsy67

    gsy67
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: :clap: :D

    Just to say, thanks guys for the information.
    As of this afternoon, I have an incredible amount of boring channels back instead of the 5 I had.
    Sky back on line.
    Thanks again for you help.

    gsy67.

    :) :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice