Sky cabling, Diplexer, Triplexer & Loftbox!

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by M4T VW, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. M4T VW

    M4T VW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi guys

    Bear with me here, And yes i have searched but none of it helped me.

    Im planning on getting sky installed again soon. I want Sky+ HD in the front room downstaris and Sky+ in my room.
    Simple you say, No. This is an extention on the house and its hard to run any cables neatly.

    We had sky installed about 5 years agao so only a basic 1 cable system then. The one cable runs down the outside of the building and through the wall, Done

    As we want HD in the front room we will need 2 cables down there. I dont mind if they run another down the wall where the other is but i would like it neater if possible.

    I also need 2 cables in my room for the Sky+ box. This is a problem as i dont want cables on the inside or outside of the wall really.

    Ive been looking at the loft box and it nearly does what i want but it seems to only supply the 1 sat feed to the 2nd room.
    I want if possible to put 2 sat feeds and the aerial down the same cable.
    Somehow i dont think its going to work but can someone confirm this.
    I might be able to get another cable down the trunking in the wall but i dont have easy access to the loft so will see if i can at the weekend.
    Is there another way to get 2 sat feeds into the 2nd room neatly?
    There doesnt seem to be a wall plate for it on satcure so im a bit stumped!

    Any ideas?

    Mat:)
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    It is possible to feed satellite IF signals (950-2150 MHz) and terrestrial TV signals (470-860 MHz) down the same cable with the right diplexers and / or distribution equipment etc.
    The Satcure site is a good place to find info; you can even download a book from there called "Piping TV around the house".
    Piping TV Around the House - eBook

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  3. M4T VW

    M4T VW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I know about most of it to be honest, Just sky im a big stuck with.
    I know you can get Sat & terrestrial feeds down the same cable but can you get 2 sat feeds and 1 TV feed down the same cable?

    Might have to cut the distro out of it completely and just put the cables straight from the LNB into the walls:rolleyes:
     
  4. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,944
    You a need separate cable for each feed.
    This would be a quad LNB, two feeds for each box and you could put the aerial down one witha combiner/diplexer.
    There could be problems is of you tried to feed the arieal to each box using a feed cable for each it could create crosstalk between the two feeds.
     
  5. the_gavnor

    the_gavnor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worthing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +21
    The simple answer is yes you can get 2x satellite and 1x UHF feeds down a single cable, have done this in many a times.

    You need a device called a stacker/destacker, which can be found here: http://www.globalinvacom.com/products/pdfs/StackDestackW.pdf

    To get the UHF picture down the cable, you need to Diplex (using DIP2) the UHF and Sat before the stacker/destacker, then into the Stacker/Destacker and then Diplex (using DIP1) the LNB1 output from the Destacker for 2x satellite 1x UHF feeds.

    Gavin
     
  6. M4T VW

    M4T VW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Wow, Thats good to know but damn its expensive. (The price of a sky+ box!)

    I think i need to look at getting another cable or twin cable down the existing hole if possible.
    Or it will have to go though the wall into my bedroom instead.

    Thanks for your help guys.

    Off to find some cheap coax twin cable...:rotfl:
     
  7. the_gavnor

    the_gavnor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worthing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +21
    Webro Twin RG59 will do the job, with some duck tape, should be able to pull through the twin on the back of the single cable;)
     
  8. M4T VW

    M4T VW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thats great!

    Any idea what cable this is?
    Digital Satellite Cable - ideal for Sky+ Installation

    The twin stuff, Doesnt say if its RG59 or WF100
    Hoping to run the cable in the wall ready for the installer so he can either run it straight to the dish or cut it in the loft and join it together.

    Want to make sure its future proof so i could go HD if i wanted. WF100 might be preferred...
     
  9. M4T VW

    M4T VW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    All done!

    Bought 30m of twin from TLC on Saturday and a few plugs etc.
    Lucky to have a drain pipe in boxwork running from the loft through the bathroom beside my room and downstairs.

    Managed to drop the twin down the boxwork and drill into my room and poke it though.
    Ive connected virgin to it at the moment just to check it works and no problems!

    Now the sky man has at least 25m of cable in the loft to run to the dish thats only about 5m away. Sorted :thumbsup:

    If only i could get on the roof i would do it myself:thumbsdow
     

Share This Page

Loading...