1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Cable

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by arn, Jan 2, 2004.

  1. arn

    arn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bury
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does anyone have a link where i can get a cable made up so i can connect the upstairs tv to the 2nd output on my skybox.

    Thks
     
  2. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    how are you thinking of routing this cable? let me know and i could get a cable made up for you
    :)
     
  3. saturday

    saturday
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean a scart lead? I think the maximum length before signal loss/degredation becomes a problem is 10 metres (might be wrong here).

    If you need a longer run then there are solutions available that use cat5 cabling. This is also neater and easier to run as the cable and connectors are smaller. May cost you >£100.

    If you are prepared to lose image quality then coaxial cable run from the sky rf output will carry at least 30 metres. Very cheap option at <£10.
     
  4. arn

    arn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bury
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the replys i did go the coaxial route and the quality isn't to bad. It was only for the kids Channels anyway.
     
  5. kill3r

    kill3r
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a coaxial cable from the RF output of my Sky box to an upstairs 32" TV and it's surprisingly watchable. Be nice to have stereo sound though :(
     
  6. arn

    arn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bury
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont think my kids would appreciate stereo anyway i think they are more interested in what monster the power puff girls are facing :)
     
  7. wozwebs

    wozwebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    The other solution would be to get a video sender for anyone else thinking of linking to Sky upstairs. I bought one from Lidl a few weeks back. Picture is fantastic and no cabling required. Just plugged the scart into the video out scart socket on my Sky+ and away I go.

    Can even use the remote upstairs to change channel. Only £29.99 as well!! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...