Sky+ but not registered with sky does not work

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by asa_5, Jul 17, 2005.

1. asa_5

asa_5

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :rolleyes: Hi

I am a newbie with sky, and sky plus stuff, I purchased a sky + box (second hand from ebay) just to view some free channels like bbc world and any other free channels (don’t wana subscribe to sky). All i can get is about 10 seconds view of the channels and than a message something like "there is a technical problem with this channel please contact a ....." appears on the screen and I have change the channel or restart the box. This message appears for every single channel i want to view.

Now, I don’t really know where the problem lies

1- Is the box faulty? I contacted the seller and he was not much helpful.
    2- Is the sky + boxe only work if you are subscribed?
    I have many friends who have old sky boxes and view many channels without any subscriptions

Any help would be appreciated

2. Mr Incredible

Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,927
    Best bet is to ring Sky and explain your situation and ask them whether a Sky+ box, with or without a FTV card, would work as you want to watch FTA channels (BBc etc) and FTV channels like ITV, ITV2 etc.

3. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'm a bit perplexed as to why you went to the extra expense of a Sky+ box (which is about twice the price of a normal box), when none of the Sky+ functions are going to work if you don't subscribe ?

4. davej

davej
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only a guess, but it may be worth checking you've got the instant rewind switched off (Services, Sky+ setup) otherwise it might be trying to use the Sky+ services that you're not subscribed to.

5. ebony

ebony

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: