Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky+, burning to DVD and other questions...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by JimboHC, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. JimboHC

    JimboHC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newbie to the forums so please be gentle!

    Currently a Sky D subscriber and I've been thinking of moving to Sky+ for ages but before I do, I'm hoping the excellent people here could confirm or deny whether they know the following setup is possible (or indeed sensible):

    Sky+ 160 box
    outputting to Pioneer VSX-C100 amp (yeah, I know it's old...)
    Scart input to TV (I am embarrassed to say how old the set is and will be upgraded to a 32" LCD in the near future!)

    So far, so normal.

    Now I want to output the recordings from the Sky+ box for burning to DVD. My proposal is to use the S-Video from the box into a Miglia Directors Cut box (http://miglia.com/products/video/dcscart/index.html) and into iMovie HD on my PowerBook G4 and then burnt using iDVD.

    I guess my question is (if you have a look at the Miglia specs) will it be OK for using with the Sky+ box.

    Also, are there any particular foibles with the Sky+ system that are worth reporting.

    Thanks in advance for your comments.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    You can do this by choosing the 'copy' option on the Sky+ planner - this will play the recording in real time which will enable you to capture the output on the Mac which can then be burnt to DVD

    John
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I might be teaching my grannie to suck eggs here, but are you aware that s-video carries no sound (you would need a sound feed as well as s-video) ?
     
  4. JimboHC

    JimboHC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies - very useful.

    Nick - I wasn't aware of the S-Video issue but as I can also run a Scart into the Miglia box, I guess I can go down this route. Which begs a further question – does the Sky+ box have more than one Scart output?

    Cheers again.
     
  5. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    I use an ElGato EyeTV200 box to do this. Scart composite video isn't as good as S-Video. The EyeTV200 has composite video + L+R audio input as well as S-Video but I don't have SKY+, only ordinary Digibox, so I can't use S-Video.

    The EyeTV200 software has the option to export as DV so it's compatible with iMovie. It also has some other great features and I use it as a PVR.
     
  6. stek1961

    stek1961
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you have problems with aspect ratio in EyeTV 200 on Mac? Mine won't display properly, widescreen just crops and zooms (and squeezes).

    Using svideo and scart to RCA for audio.

    I've got a call open with Elgato but they're pretty crap so far, you know, try unplugging it etc...

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice