Sky broadband! does anyone have it?

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by shahedz, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,950
    i currently have Homechoice for my TV and broadband at a cost of £27.99 per month.

    Due to starting a new job which requires much longer hours, i need to get Sky +. think it would be cheaper to get the basic pack ( don't watch a lot of TV just a few channels) + the movie pack and get the broadband for free.

    Does anyone have the SKy broadband pack yet?

    also how long does it take to switch from one user to another., will i have to wait 4 weeks inbetween? to stop Homechoice and reconnect Sky?
     
  2. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    It doesn't launch until september Shahedz. Details at this stage are pretty scarce.
     
  3. delboyuk2005uk

    delboyuk2005uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    St Helens
    Ratings:
    +73
    I work for an outsource company who has actually obtained a contract with sky and part of the deal is to supply the company with sky broadband and its good
     
  4. eddidaz

    eddidaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like a pretty good deal to me. Shame I don't have Sky :(
     
  5. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    My sister will be migrating from a completley useless Orange package to Sky Max, which has an upto 8MB connection, 50GB a month download allowance and a free wireless router (whic appaers to a rebadged Netgear DG842GT).

    All this for a £10 a month.

    If it works, it will be a good deal. I'll keep you all posted.
     
  6. Joe90sDad

    Joe90sDad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Location Location
    Ratings:
    +44
    I've got Sky and got a letter the other week about this free broadband stuff. You register for it now and then they'll let you know.
    For the free service it's with a 2gb monthly usage cap. You have to pay a £40 one off fee but you do get a wireless router thrown in.

    I'm going to use it in addition to my current DSL connection to begin with and see how it goes from there.
     
  7. Joe90sDad

    Joe90sDad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Location Location
    Ratings:
    +44
    Xusia, for £10 on the Sky Max it's up to 16mb connection according to my literature.
     
  8. MrCoopz

    MrCoopz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
    has anyone heard back from Sky yet?

    They said they would contact me in august
     
  9. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I'm sure thats the case but I know the limit of our local exchnage and the copper than runs around this area ;)
     
  10. too_laid_back

    too_laid_back
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm assuming that you will need an BT line for this??.. which blows me out, as i'm all cable with the phone & broadband:thumbsup:

    A shame really as i was thinking of getting it, as its only 40 quid and letting the wife & kids use it, rather than hoggin my cable link:(
     
  11. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,950
    damn it, i was hoping to get it sooner, as i want to order sky + asap. but dont want to pay for Sky and my Homechoice until the broadband reaches me , guess i will have to wait, and like all good things i bet the waiting list is going to be ridiculous
     
  12. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Get in early to avoid disappointment. There's another thread on it somewhere that I'll try and find for you. Only certain telephone exchanges are capable of handling the broadband package Sky are proposing.

    Here you go Sha, happy reading mate http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=370910
     
  13. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,950
    cheers Mylo for the link. have registered, and good news is i can get it in my area! so just have to wait to hear from Sky now! :thumbsup:
     
  14. Battle

    Battle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,172
    Just got an email from Sky today saying that im "First in the Queue" for getting their new broadband but the code they have given is only valid for 21 days so it looks like they are going to be busy - now I just need to get a MAC from Orange and god knows how long thats going to take.:rolleyes:
     
  15. mmab9

    mmab9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My sky broadband will connect on monday 21st I have all the kit just waiting But try this web site http://forum.digitalspy.co.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=161
    Digital spy have alot of stuff about sky:thumbsup:
     
  16. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,304
    I'm just waiting for my router , my exchange is ready for the MAX service . Been with NTL for 5 years , but at a £10 a month , compared to £35 , its a no brainer
     
  17. Joe90sDad

    Joe90sDad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Location Location
    Ratings:
    +44
    I got my email on Monday saying I could now receive it. I've signed up and am just waiting for the router.

    I'm told the router is wireless only so I need to have a wireless card in my PC. Surely it must have a Cat5 hard wired connection too?

    Anyway, I've just gone for the basic system which is included in my TV subscription. I'm going to keep my current ADSL from Pipex as I rely on the internet a lot.
     
  18. dkuk2000

    dkuk2000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Believe me if your going to ditch your cable broadband for sky (i think it's adsl) you will notice a difference ADSL is **** compared to good old coaxial connection,why do you think there is such a difference in price.
    ADSL = poor mans broadband.
    I regreted changing 5 months ago,can't change back as i'm stuck in a bloody 12 months contract :mad:
     
  19. ChildOfRarn

    ChildOfRarn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent
    Ratings:
    +126
    I know this doesn't apply to everyone but cable users who are thinking of changing should bear in mind that ADSL degrades over distance.
    I read on another thread that Telewest state something like
    I'm hoping that Telewest will reduce their broadband prices due to the advent of Sky, Talk Talk etc but I'm currently still prepared to believe that what you pay for is what you get.

    Trevor
     
  20. Rygar

    Rygar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +274
    Thats a bit of a sweeping blanket statement. Which is better depends on various factors. Cable will be better for some, ADSL & ADSL2+ better for others.
     
  21. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    65,428
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,747

    Dont you have to switch one off, when your MAC is transfered?
     
  22. Joe90sDad

    Joe90sDad
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Location Location
    Ratings:
    +44
    It's on one of my other telephone lines.
     
  23. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,950
    damn it ! i got an email saying hopefully in the new year! tempted to go down the cable telewest route
     

Share This Page

Loading...