Sky box wire question

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by p1tse, Aug 24, 2013.

  1. p1tse

    p1tse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +83
    I currently have a white sky box ie no HD

    The wire is a little too short, that's the two white cable joined together with a thin wire at the end which is screwed into to sky box.
    1. Can I extend this with some sort of DIY kit?

    I'm due a replacement new black box. Not signing up to Sky HD but the person said there are several free/ standard channels with HD.
    2. Would this require new cabling to what I currently have, so when I get this installed I can get the length to be extended at the sametime?
     
  2. the_watcher87

    the_watcher87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    903
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +102
    If it's a sky installer they should have no problem extending the cable but hit your DIY shop and buy 2 connectors, a male to male adaptor and a short length of coax if you want to DIY it. Shouldn't cost more than £1 or so and dead simple to do.
     
  3. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,221
    You can buy extension cables like this. But you'll need another run for the second tuner anyway (unless what you're describing is shotgun cable) so may as well just get the installer to sort it.
     
  4. p1tse

    p1tse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +83
    Thanks

    Good to know there are extension types

    Got the new box coming in a couple of weeks so will ask if they can extend if using existing wire
     
  5. DrWise

    DrWise
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,057
    yeah the will extend the wire, when connecting the new box :)
    and they will leave some spare but bundled up
     
  6. p1tse

    p1tse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +83
    It's probably 50-100 cm short depending how I feed cable to tidy, but at the moment it's maxed out on reach to think about tidying wires
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice