1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky box outputs?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by james_19742000, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. james_19742000

    james_19742000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Sorry for asking this question, I have a bog standard silver Pace Sky digibox, but where it is located it isnt easy to see what connections are on the back, can anyone tell me would it have the 'digital' outpuit on the back please, if so would it be the toslink optical digital one please??

    Many thanks for your help.

    James
     
  2. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    all i do know is only the sky+ boxes have the digi out mate
     
  3. james_19742000

    james_19742000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Ok thanks for that, I am pretty sure it does but anyone clarify at all please?
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    The only standard Sky boxes that have had a digital optical out were some Sony boxes (and on those DD5.1 was never enabled) - other than those, it's only the Sky+ boxes.

    John
     
  5. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    dd 5.1 is only broadcast on some movies from the sky movies 1,2 and 3 channels, all the sky plus boxes have it, and i am pretty sure the standered pace and amstrad boxes dont have it.
     
  6. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    They definately don't.

    John
     
  7. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    thinking of getting sky+

    does the box offer coaxial out as i don't want optical or any other connection for audio out

    also does the box offer component out?? - because i'm not using bloody scarts in any way shape or form :D

    thanks
     
  8. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    thanks Johndon, i just didnt want to be so committed,
    the pace boxes which are what all current sky+ boxes are, do not have component and are optical only, for sure.
    so you will have too use scart and optical, so what is wrong with scart and optical,
     
  9. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    oh dear - scart and optical :mad:

    ref optical - have found that with a mid/high end av set up the coax is far better

    ref scart - hate the bloody things - a total compromise - i want video and audio seperate - i do not put video through av amp/processor but direct to display as a purer signal with less un-needed processing

    can probably deal with the scart problem using js convertor for scart to component but at a price :(
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sky+ has s-video too.
     
  11. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    nick

    ref s video

    what do you see as its best aplication to a plasma??

    thanks
     
  12. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    I wonder if there would be much benefit using component though, as the vast majority of stuff from sky, loses it quality through compression, in fact it may even look worse :eek:
    interesting about the coax over optical though...
    and isnt scart meant to be a better quality than s video???
     
  13. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    good question as per component - views seem to differ

    coax v optical is a bit of a purist thing - each to their own - i have used both and imo a good coax wins - but it depends a lot on your front end!!

    in most 'normal' setups you may hear no difference

    i concur with your comments ref s vid - imo an inferior source
     
  14. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    As far as quality goes, the order (from best to worst) is :

    Component
    RGB (can be delivered in scart or component form)
    S-Video
    Composite

    However, the differences between the first 3 are marginal, and component is often only quoted as being better, because component can also be progressive. However, many display devices convert progressive back to interlaced ! The differences between the first 3 are so subtle, that they can often be altered by differences in the actual design of the display inputs (i.e. on some TV's, s-video can often be better than RGB).

    You can always do what I do - buy an AV amp that converts everything to component, although this is no guarantee that the pictures will look any better.
     
  15. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    IMHO the S-video output from the Sky + is surprisingly good though the scart RGB wins by a small margin. SDI modded and the SDI output wins by a long way.

    Goodish audio kit here, though not cutting edge, and to be honest I fail to detect a difference between optical and coax outputs where the choice exists.
     
  16. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks nick - good answer

    i don't like putting video through an amp even at the top end - but thats a personal thing :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...