1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky box Grundig - Keeps switching off.

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by nunew33, Apr 1, 2004.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a four year old grundig (will update with model number later).

    It keeps switching off (ie green to red light), then powering off (ie lights go out) then after a couple of seconds powering on (to red) and after a few more seconds it allows me to switch.

    Doing this on a daily basis?

    Any ideas? Something I can fix or terminal?
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    See www.satcure.co.uk for info and, erm, cure (!). No experience of this company.

    Mike.
     
  3. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Great site. PSU repair kit and cpu cooler now winging its way to me!
     
  4. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nunew33, Did you find an answer to your original post , because mine mirror box has been doing the same thing . Thanks in advance . Jim
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Jim. From sat cure im guessing its the psu on its way out and an overheating cpu.

    Cutting out and then restarting later sounds like a heat related problem, so getting a fan in sounds like a good idea. And with satcure saying a psu >12 months on a grundig Im guessing it would be better to get uprated capacitors.

    Will let you know if its successful by weeekend!
     
  6. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks ...Jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...