Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky box Grundig - Keeps switching off.

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by nunew33, Apr 1, 2004.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a four year old grundig (will update with model number later).

    It keeps switching off (ie green to red light), then powering off (ie lights go out) then after a couple of seconds powering on (to red) and after a few more seconds it allows me to switch.

    Doing this on a daily basis?

    Any ideas? Something I can fix or terminal?
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,476
    See www.satcure.co.uk for info and, erm, cure (!). No experience of this company.

    Mike.
     
  3. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Great site. PSU repair kit and cpu cooler now winging its way to me!
     
  4. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nunew33, Did you find an answer to your original post , because mine mirror box has been doing the same thing . Thanks in advance . Jim
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Jim. From sat cure im guessing its the psu on its way out and an overheating cpu.

    Cutting out and then restarting later sounds like a heat related problem, so getting a fan in sounds like a good idea. And with satcure saying a psu >12 months on a grundig Im guessing it would be better to get uprated capacitors.

    Will let you know if its successful by weeekend!
     
  6. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks ...Jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice