Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky+ box fan

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by videonasty, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. videonasty

    videonasty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +39
    How does the fan work on the Sky+ box? I ask because I didn't turn on the Sky+ box on Saturday & the fan was working :confused: but now when I turn the box on & watch for a time, the fan hasn't come back on? :confused: :confused: (or not that I have been aware) Do I have a faulty box, or is this the norm? :thumbsup:
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    It's temperature controlled, sometimes it will come on and sometimes it won't even if the conditions are pretty similar.
     
  3. videonasty

    videonasty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +39
    Do the boxes sometimes switch off, onto standby, when not in use?
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    If you have received a firmware update the box will be in standby.
     
  5. videonasty

    videonasty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks, I'll check tonight. I left it on last night to record a programme in the middle of the night & this morning it was in standby, I didn't have time to check if it recorded the programme? :confused: :smashin:
     
  6. Vonzack

    Vonzack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    It doesn't need to be left on for it to record. The recording will still work from Standby.
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    V2 boxes had a software update last night. My box still recorded a programme I'd set to record at 8AM this morning. The box will record when in standby.
     
  8. videonasty

    videonasty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +39
    I didn't know that, thanks :oops:

    What is new with the update?
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You can set the red-dot to "time out". You can turn subtitles on/off from the "help" button. Movies with 12/15/18 ratings now need a PIN to play back. Channels can be PIN-protected. Subtitled programmes can be highlighted in the EPG. The EPG graphics are spruced up.
     
  10. videonasty

    videonasty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +39
    Would you say overall that its better & will it have messed with ny of my settings, ie favourites?
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The EPG certainly looks "fresher". Most people (inc. myself) haven't noticed any box changes. You'll need to know your PIN to record & playback age-restricted movies in future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice