Sky+ box content after multiroom room.....

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by waveydavey13, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. waveydavey13

    waveydavey13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +67
    Hi all,


    We're having Sky HD fitted next week and having our existing Sky+ box moved to the bedroom as a multiroom install.

    Sky said that our existing viewing card would go in the new HD box and the Sky+ box would have a new viewing card upstairs. I never thought at the time to ask but will we still be able to access all the programs we have on our sky+ box after it's been moved or do we need to get everything on the box watched before it's moved upstairs??





    Cheers

    Dave.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  2. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,300
    It would be much better if the new card went in the new box otherwise you will indeed not be able to watch the content on your old box.

    Can't see why they can't do it that way round though?
     
  3. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,300
    Actually, I might be talking nonsense. In fact, I almost certainly am...

    Best wait for someone who knows what they are talking about to answer!

    Thinking about it some more, you should be fine either way round.

    Steve
     
  4. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Doesn't really matter which way it's done.

    If Sky issue a new card for the old Sky+ box now to be used as Multiroom, then the new card will be activated against the receiver details (paired/'married') and all features and recordings made on that box will still be available
     
  5. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    ....except for recordings of premium channels (Sky Sports and Sky Movies). These require the card that was present when the recording was made (so the card which is now housed in the Sky HD box) and also requires that card to be paired with that box (which it won't be; it'll now be paired with the HD box).
     
  6. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,300
    Right - that's what I thought at first...

    So why don't they just put the new card in the new box?
     
  7. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Yes, you're right as this bears out

    Will I lose my recordings? - Sky+ - Digital Spy Forums

    So, as suggested in above thread

    The best options are:
    1. Make sure cards stay with original boxes - call Sky to repair (this can be hassle as they often claim it is "impossible" - it isn't)
    2. Copy contents of original box to new one with Copy+
    3. Swap card when you wish to view - but this is a pain as discussed

    At least nothing has been done yet so now's the time to sort it.

    Good luck
     
  8. waveydavey13

    waveydavey13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +67
    Thanks for the replies guys.....


    I take it then that any recordings from premium channels wouldn't be viewable if the original card wasn't moved with the sky+ box but any from BBC, ITV etc would be???




    If that's the case that's not too bad....... I've also had contradicting info from Sky themselves!!!! One person i asked said all recordings would be viewable and the other said none would be!!!!! :rolleyes:








    Cheers

    Dave.
     
  9. pcbbc

    pcbbc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London UK
    Ratings:
    +84
    The way Sky will want to do things:
    Current card in new HD box, new card issued for existing Sky+ box

    Result:
    All old recordings EXCEPT ones from FTA channels (BBC, ITV etc) will be totally unwatchable

    Workaround:
    Return original card to old box temporarily to allow viewing. However premium content (movies and sports) will never be viewable without repairing.


    What you can do (as already suggested):
    a) Call Sky and repair the cards round the right way. Often a pain as they either claim it is impossible, or if they do do it they don't do it right leaving you without the ability to do anything on either box. In this case everything remains viewable (once Sky do their job right).
    b) Copy your recordings from old box to new HD box. A bit of hassle I agree, but the advantage is the recordings stay in the main room - which is presumably where you'd wish to view them!?
    c) Swap cards back when you want to view. Okay for one offs, but not so great in the long run because you can not record anything while you do this and also doesn't work for premium content (movies sport).
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  10. waveydavey13

    waveydavey13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +67

    Sorry but i'm a little confused....... If i was to temp put the existing card from the new HD box into the old plus box would i or would i not be able to view all recordings.


    Sorry to be a pain..... It's been a long day. :confused:






    Cheers

    Dave.
     
  11. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    You will be able to watch all recordings from non Premium channels - i.e. everything except Sky Movies and Sky Sports which require the original card to be paired to the box.
     
  12. waveydavey13

    waveydavey13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +67
    That's great..... At least we only have to watch the premium stuff then watch all the rest at our leasure.


    Thanks for the help guys.






    Cheers

    Dave.
     

Share This Page

Loading...