1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + and Surround Sound

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Matty7, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Matty7

Matty7

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

Apologies if I am covering any old ground as I think there have been posts similar to this about hooking up Sky + to their home cinema system (mine’s a Panasonic SC-HT530) but I am very very new to this. In fact I don’t really understand the optical, co-axial stuff that has been mentioned on this subject before now, and wondered if someone could help from scratch really.

So, my first question I suppose is, does anyone know where I could find a general idiots guide to inputs and outputs on devices like this (I have also just got a new LCD TV, a Samsung LE32R41B) and what all the connections at the back of these things are for?

Secondly, I have connected my sky + to the TV with a scart lead and the sky + to the home cinema system with a scart lead as well. The home cinema system is connected to the TV with a video cable that was supplied. Now, I can watch sky + channels on the TV with the sound turned right down on the TV and listen to the audio through the home cinema system but I only get it though the front 2 speakers and the subwoofer (not the central speaker and the 2 rear speakers). Is this the best way to set the system up (I suspect not!) and how can I get sky + (particularly movies and the football) in surround sound?

Thirdly, I have played and watched DVDs on my new toys and it is absolutely brilliant in surround sound, however when I play music CDs on the home cinema system they too only come out of the front 2 speakers and subwoofer (like sky +). Is this normal or can I get music CDs to play in surround sound as well?

I would really appreciate any guidance and sorry if I have covered any old ground.

Cheers
    Matt

2. duckson

duckson