1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ and radio channels

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Bert Coules, Jan 31, 2004.

  1. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Does anyone know why the Sky+ box won't record the audio-only channels? What's the rationale behind the restriction? And is there any sneaky way of getting round it, beyond using an external recorder?

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  2. vernall

    vernall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +22
    hi
    do you have a v1 or v2??
    i have a v2 and if you press services then 6(manual recordings) you can then set a manual timer to record the radio stations i.e. for an hour of a show on radio 5
     
  3. ledzep100

    ledzep100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Windsor, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Bert,

    The only problem with this is the box will calculate the space taken on the hardrive as the same as a video channel even thogh it only takes up a fraction of the space. e.g if you try to manually record 30 hours of radio it'll say there isn't enough space.

    Ledzep
     
  4. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thanks for the replies. I have a V1 box, so can't use Vernall's idea.

    Even if an audio channel recording would take up the same amount of disk space as a video channel, it would still be valuable to have the facility; it does seem strange to omit it.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979





    The manual recording function is part of the OS, it is accessible on both v1 and v2 boxes:)
     
  6. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Starburst,

    Thanks for the info; I'll try it. It does still seem a long-winded way to do it, though.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Yes it is a long winded way but radio channels only pay a fraction of the cost TV channels do for an EPG slot.
    The extended facilities of the EPG which are used for SKY+ and in some cases a standard digibox come at a price that radio stations choose not to pay after all "home taping will kill the record industry" as they said a couple of decades ago:)
     
  8. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Starburst,

    Yes, I take your point about the EPG being the necessary basis for the Sky+ recording system. And as you say, even the highest-profile radio channels are unlikely ever to figure in the EPG as comprehensively as even the lowest-profile TV ones...

    One added feature I'd like to see is the extension of the "record what you're watching now" facility to cover radio channels, which I presume could be done without needed full EPG listings.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     

Share This Page

Loading...