Sky+ and phoneline question

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by GAmbrose, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Now that Sky have confirmed the reduced prices for Sky+ as from October 1st, I am definately going to get it installed.

    However, theres no phoneline socket in the bedroom that I am going to put the Sky+ box. Now I know it's not neccesary, but if you get Sky+ they insist you have it connected. So my question is, how much will BT charge to come out and install a phone socket in my bedroom?

    We've got 2 phonelines coming into the house, one is ADSL enabled and i'd rather have a phone socket that is linked to the ADSL line so that I can connect my X-box to the 'Live' services. An extension cable is out of the question as it would need to be about 20 metres.

    Gary A
     
  2. RichardJ

    RichardJ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,151
    Sky put the phone extension in for me from my front room to my bedroom, when they put my sky+ box in and moved my digi box upstairs.
     
  4. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Thanks Richard, but:

    Note that the speed of data transfer through the Wireless Phone Line Extender is limited to 33kbps and is suitable for analogue phone lines only. - No good for ADSL.

    How did they run the extension though hunts, I don't want a wire trailing up the stairs and along the hallway.

    Gary A
     
  5. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,151
    They ran it up the front of the house..
     
  6. Boozyuzi

    Boozyuzi
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +34
    That's what I am hoping that they will do when I get Sky+ installed on Thursday.
     

Share This Page

Loading...