SKY+ and Lumagen Problem

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gwc, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

    I am trying to connect my Sky+ box to my Lumagen via a scart to RGBS cable.

    I get a picture but the colour seems to have no red component. I have check the cable and it seems fine.

    I have tried input 3 and 4 and the both exhibit the same problem, it seems like the Lumagen is not seeing the red input.

    Input 4 is normally connected to my X-box, with input 4 configured as component and it work fine.


    So I am a bit confused. Has anyone any suggestions.

    Cheers

    gwc
     
  2. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you read the last paragraph on Page 7 of the manual? It documents how to configure RGBs on an input and which connections carry which signal.
     
  3. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes I configured the Video Input for RGBS.
     
  4. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    I will be connecting my PaceTwin to my VisionDVI is the coming week or so, just waiting on an RGBs cable. If you haven't found I solution by then I will see if I can figure out anything which might help.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    Hi GWC: Can you email me with the serial number and where you purchased the unit and when. If you can also send me the cfg file you can rip from it I'll look at that too. You can get the config editor off Lumagens website to allow you to do this. Just upload from sclaer then save as a file and attach it to me. ...

    Also you can try swapping the green lead to the red socket and seeing if that gives a red signal out. If it does then it would suggest the scart lead is faulty. If it doesn't then we need to look elsewhere

    oh...and if you do MENU 0903 it'll tell you what firmware is on board. Can you give me that info too please.

    Gordon
     
  6. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    cheers remix_88.


    Hi Gordon

    The serial number is - 100600015
    I pusrchased of the net - www.crtprojectors.co.uk
    It was purchased in - Oct 2004

    I shall get the config file later on tonight (once the kids are in bed).

    I have tried swapping the leads around when I connect the Green lead to the Red socket nothing?

    Would you like the info PM'd or e-mailed directly?

    Thanks for the help.

    Cheers

    gwc
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    You have a very early unit. It will not function in RGBS mode for composite sync unless you are using a sync filter on the composite line. Do you have one? If not please email me your address and I'll see if I have one I can post out. Also if you have latest firmware you should set input3 to SCART not RGBS.

    Gordon
     
  8. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

    I don't have sync filter.

    I am a bit worried about it being a very early model as I only purchased 8 months ago (brand new). When did the Lumagen go into production?


    Cheers

    gwc
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    I wouldn't worry too much about it being early unit. That model first started shipping about July/August last year. ie 10 months ago. The current units have slightly revised board layout that means they don't need an external filter to work with an RGBcvS source. If you update the firmware in your unit and use the filter it will give as good performance as a brand new one bought today.

    Gordon
     
  10. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Gordon,


    Installed the latest firmware and set input 3 to SCART, still the same. Also tried the red lead in the green socket and it changed the picture, so I think some is coming out of the the red lead.

    Cheers

    gwc
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    You need to send me your address and I'll get the filter out to you. If that doesnt work then I'm down first week of July and I'll pop around and do a warranty swap out on the PCB if it turns out to be faulty.

    Gordon
     
  12. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Gordon,

    I need to get my system calibrated anyway. Could you to do a calibration when your down in July and maybe look at this problem at the same time (if it is a problem)

    Cheers

    gwc
     
  13. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    gwc, I am not intending to hijack your thread but this is related. Gordon, I am going to be connecting my PaceTwin to VisionDVI via RGBs. I recently bought the VisionDVI from another forum member, so it is second hand and I don't know how old it is. Is there a range of serial numbers which are known be older and require the sync filter? If so, can you post them here?
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    In all honesty I can't remember what it is for DVI. If you email me the serial number I can probably find out.

    Gordon
     
  15. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    s/n 100500133
     
  16. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
  17. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for checking, I will report back if I encounter any problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice