Sky+ and HDD recorders

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by davet010, Sep 17, 2004.

  1. davet010

    davet010
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've already got a Sky+ box and a Panasonic E50, but the newer breed of HDD/recorders has me interested, mainly because of the high speed dubbing.

    If I bought, say, the Sony RDR-HX 900, could I just put it into the same place in the chain as my E50 ?

    cheers in advance
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,599
    Yes - although the Sony models wouldn't be the best choice as they lack Flexible Record. With (for example) a Panasonic E85 you could record onto the HDD using Flexible Record, edit and the high speed dub to DVD-R. With a Sony you would have to pick the closest recording mode which, if even 1 minute over 2hrs, would be at reduced resolution.
     
  3. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Spot on, if you (like me) record movies that are regularly over 120 minutes do not pick the Sony.
     
  4. davet010

    davet010
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Silly follow up question perhaps, but how do I move recordings from the Sky+ box to the HDD/DVD recorder ?
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,599
    You have to play them normally and record them on the DVD recorder - just as if you were transferring to VHS (only you use the RGB output instead). There is no 'file transfer' or similar from Sky+ to any DVD recorder.
     
  6. davet010

    davet010
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    So burning them is actually a longer winded process than just recording them on Sky+ then burning them on my E50 ?

    Lordy !
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice