sky + and component.

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by umeerw, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. umeerw

    umeerw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just wandered whether the Sky + boxes have component connections or are they only scart, i'm ordering sky soon and am trying ti configure the setup in my room, cheers
    U
     
  2. JimmyCobra

    JimmyCobra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    OLDHAM
    Ratings:
    +8
    well the fitter said yes through a convertor but they left after an hour of trying. i had sky+ on a 14 inch portable on
    the living room floor via scart. and they called it a success.
    seeking suitable compo from them for disconecting everything in my sig and walking away.
     
  3. m488dkw

    m488dkw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mines a PVR1 and it has scart and s-video outputs, I use an AV receiver to convert the s-video into component for the TV
     
  4. umeerw

    umeerw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys, will be plugging into ysp 1000 i hope prob use a scart to component adapter.
    U
     
  5. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    It has component RGB - do you mean the Americanised corruption of Component - Y????
     
  6. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    YPrPb? The component video format that everyone in the world uses? It's not that corrupt ;)

    No, SCART->component is non-trivial (have to matrix the signal so needs an active converter box) so you can't do it without spending a few quid. What is ysp1000? No SCART input on that? Sky+ does have s-video out.
     
  7. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    I was not referring to its actual quality but to the incorrect Americanised terminology of referring to it as just "Component video" without the YPrPb

    Apparently YPrPb is better than RGB for DVD playback (due to the way the DVD video is encoded but for Satellite & DTT vice versa.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice