sky+ about to be installed - what to do with old dish?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by mobione, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. mobione

    mobione
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mini Dish about to be installed. Can I use my old Sky dish (still in situ) for anything - e.g hotbird or other satellite and channel then thru the sky+ box aswell as the min dish for sky.

    Or should I just ask the installer to dismantle the old dish?
     
  2. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Sky+ utilises the same dish. The LNB gets changed and an extra run of cable is installed.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    If it's an old analogue dish then the new Euro HD channel is broadcast from that position. You might want to keep it up for that at some point.

    I used my old one for Hotbird 13 so my wife could get French TV. It needed to be re-sighted but I just got the guy to do that when he installed the Sky Plus minidish.

    G
     
  4. mobione

    mobione
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks gordon

    Did you hook it up thru the sky+ digibox or did you need to use another decoder?
     
  5. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,212
    Could be wrong but i thought you needed planning permition to have two dishes on the side of the house ?
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    I used another decoder and a card. I then chanegd it to a Technomate receiver and a suitable card.

    Gordon
     
  7. Attu

    Attu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Yup you realy need planning permition if your having two dishes on the side of your house.

    Andy
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Well no one told me and no-one has complained.....then again it is on the back of mine,

    G
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,886
    I've had 2 dishes without any problems for years
     
  10. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You only need planning permission if somebody complains. ;)
     
  11. Attu

    Attu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Ahhhhh permission :) thats what happens if you copy/paste half of someones post without reading it through :)

    Yup i supose your right unless someone complains then there shouldnt be a problem but the Sky installers that came to me wouldnt fit 2 on the house, neither would they fit a dish to a chimney ?

    Andy
     
  12. iaria

    iaria
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Crawley,West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I have two dishes outside my front of the house, one is a sky minidish and the other is a 80 cm for Hotbird, and so far no permission
    Gerry
     
  13. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have an old analogue dish still up on the back..... as sky digital was installed on the front,so all the old cables are still in....are there any channels i can get with the old nokia box,or can i use my old sky digital box now it's been replaced with sky+
     
  14. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which "old nokia box" (or even Nokia, since it's a manufacturer's name)?

    If it's a reasonably modern analogue receiver, you can still receive the German channels from Astra1 at 19.2'E, plus a few others.

    See http://www.analoguesat.co.uk/
     
  15. mobione

    mobione
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well tomorrow is the day.

    I'm going to ask the installer to reconnect the old dish (80cm analogue). Someone has cut the lead just as it joins the LNB. This house used to have sky before I moved here, the old owner took his minidish but left the old analogue dish and an analogue receiver. I reckon the last installer cut the cable to the analogue dish.

    Anyway I plan to have it reconnected, aligned to Hotbird and then I will buy a cheap FTA digibox ?technomatic.

    What direction is hotbird, anything specific I should ask for tomorrow?

    Thanks:D
     
  16. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Get it pointed to Hotbird thirteen degree east and put a universal LNB on end

    Then ask for help as to what receiver to buy etc....

    G
     

Share This Page

Loading...