1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ 2nd Output - Black&White Only

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Mark Foyle, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. Mark Foyle

    Mark Foyle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am hoping someone can help. I have a new Sky+ box and was very keen to get a second cable in the RF Output -2 connection. This is a direct connection to a Sky eye and then into the back of the TV. I can change the Sky chanels so assume its semi right. The picture is in black and white with no colour at all. We have sound also.

    Any ideas or tips on how to resolve this please?

    Cheers, Mark :smashin:
     
  2. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    Sounds like the 2nd TV is slightly off channel - try fine tuning it.
     
  3. Redeye UK

    Redeye UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have a similar problem. See here. Fine tunining was the first thing I tried.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You may have a conflict between the chosen Sky RF output channel and a terrestrial channel, causing your TV to mis-tune Sky.
     
  5. Redeye UK

    Redeye UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry Nick, I tried moving the output channel as well. Anyway the sky default is 68 - as far away from the others as possible and I turned my video off aswell just in case.

    Also everything was fine with my previous box - its just the new sky+160.

    Thank you.
     
  6. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,914
    The signals output from RF1 & RF2 are identical other than 9v also available from RF2 when switched on in the setup menu. Swap them around and check.
    When you say the picture is in B&W.........is it also "grainy" (snowy) or grain-free?
     
  7. Redeye UK

    Redeye UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry Mark for the thread hijack...

    JayCee, I tried swapping the outputs, fine tuning, changing freq., turning the 9V off, praying etc. (Maybe you should try all this Mark)

    The picture is sharp and clear, just without colour.

    Thanks for you help.
     
  8. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,914
    Do you have a TV connected to RF1?
    If you have it connected by scart temporarily remove the scart so you are only connected by this RF.
    If there is........do you get colour?
    If you connect that TV to RF2.....do you get colour?
     
  9. Mark Foyle

    Mark Foyle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ya,

    Sorry been away for day or so. Back now :hiya:

    The main output is through a S-Video connection and sound over fibre and works sound through the projector v happy.

    The 2nd output the Sky technician said to place it into the RF Output -2 connection and he fiddled with the settings on the sky menu to get the IR working from the second location.

    UPDATE!!

    Last night i turned on the second tv and found some colour however distortion in graphics and interference on the sound. Think i need to buy a new remote (lost the other one) and then try some fine tuning.

    Any suggestions on a place to get replacement remotes? Tones of sites on the net any fav's??

    Cheers,

    Mark :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...