sky+ 160

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by appledell, Feb 24, 2005.

  1. appledell

    appledell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    golborne
    Ratings:
    +2
    After having two of these dreadful machines in the space of two months (both crapping out on sound) I have finally managed to get sky to de-install it and refund my money. they are now going to install an 'ordinary' sky +

    If your equipment is faulty - complain!!!!
     
  2. Mr Grumpy

    Mr Grumpy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    TBC
    Ratings:
    +9
    Good for you, it's not as if they are giving those 160 boxes away.
    The smart money is on buying a regular + box and then dropping in a suitable drive if/when the need arises. No point giving Sky all of your hard earned money after all.

    :)
     
  3. Merritt

    Merritt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Agree entirely with Mr Grumpy!! The money they charge for that 160 box is silly considering it costs around £50 for a new large HD and about 10 minutes of your time to mod a standard box!

    Steve
     
  4. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    Is it only the sky+160 that have sound drop out problems?I'm thinking of sending mine back for a refund from simplydigital.
     
  5. appledell

    appledell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    golborne
    Ratings:
    +2
    All i know, is that the original sky + (which has been moved to the kids bedroom) is (and has) been ok with no problems. 160+ is cr*p.
     
  6. Roger G Cam

    Roger G Cam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - The sound drop out problem is only on the 160Gb box. Its actually a software fault which Sky will correct with a download. The question is - when will the download be? Nobody knows.

    We did have a similar problem about a year ago with ordinary 40Gb boxeson Dolby Digital sound - Sky stopped transmittinmg DD Films for awhile until they were ready to send the fix. Problem now is that the 40Gb boxes are fine for sound - and the 160Gb boxes aren't.

    You coudl always ask Sky for a full or partial refund on the Movies package until they sort out the sound.

    Roger
     
  7. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    Well simplydigital have given me a full refund.Will buy a pace and do the HD change myself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...