1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ – Utterly Dire!

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by plague1392, Oct 15, 2002.

1. plague1392

plague1392
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I’ve been using Sky+ for about six months now and I’m about ready to put it out the window. Prior to Sky+ I used Tivo and I really regret downgrading to Sky+ because I had problems from the very start. The first problem I found was Sky+ cutting off the end of most programmes and no facility to do anything about it. Another problem was that you couldn’t record further than 7 days ahead and yet another was the series link doesn’t work with most programmes. They’ve since solved these problems with the manual record and facility to offset the recordings by a specific amount. Unfortunately both these features are almost as bad as recording from the schedule listings.

One problem is that you can’t set a weekly timer recording on the day of the week you want it to record. Another is that the time recording offset is global for all programmes you record, unlike Tivo where you can offset the start and end times of individual records that you know are frequently late. Having 15 minutes on the end of every programme to catch one programme that is generally 15 minutes late is just a waste of hard disk space. So in my opinion the timer recording facility in Sky+ is still worse than a cheap VCR.