Single panoramic split over three canvases?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by grantsteve, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Have stiched together the attached image and would really like to get it printed across 3 separate canvases to hang on my wall.


    [​IMG]


    I would be very grateful if someone could advise me on the best way to do this. Is is just a case of creating three separate images, made up of sections of the overall image?

    Photoshop tells me the image is 118.392 cm x 53.023 cm. Can I set the selection tool to do three sections at 39.464 cm x 53.023 cm and paste them onto individual sheets? If so, how?!

    Also, can anyone recommend a decent online printer to get the images onto canvas. Will they be able to make odd size canvases up?

    Thanks guys and gyals :smashin:

    Sorry the image is so bit - can't seem to make it any smaller! EDIT - sorted it!
     
  2. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    If you want to split it in 3 then I suggest the first thing to do is make the original a size that is easily divisible. Go to Image size ... Alt+Ctrl+I and change the image dimensions to something like 120cm x 53cm and then you can set the selection marquee to 40cmx53cm to select 3 parts of the image (assuming you don't want any overlap) and paste into 3 new documents. You can fix the size of the selection marqee in the style drop down box.

    Couple of suggestions though: I suspect Photoshop is reporting these massive dimensions based on 72dpi. For decent printing you want between 150 and 300 dpi. You can set this in the Image size dialog above but the resulting file is going to be massive! Also you may want to check out the online print site first to check what their canvas sizes are and adjust your resizing based on that. And finally why not do a smaller test print first? I think you need a bit of pp to bring out the best in that image and a test print will save you wasting a lot of money.

    Ray
     
  3. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Ray,

    Thanks for your suggestions - I will try resizing the image.

    As far as PP goes what would you suggest - I am pretty new to photography but thought this looked pretty good! Ah well, live and learn!
     
  4. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Don't get me wrong it's a great image but I think you'll find it comes out a little flat when printed unless you photshop it a little. There's a lot of haze in the distance and the light source from the right has caused you to lose detail on that side (did you use a lens hood ?). Have a 'play' with the levels and curves tool plus contrast settings to see if you can bring out the detail a little more in the distance. Also the burn tool may help on the hillside. Having said that it is all down to personal preference and you may want to go in the other direction with a moody, low contrast, low saturation version. As I said have a play and do some test prints first.

    Ray
     
  5. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Cheers Ray. I'll post a revised version if I can get it to look any better
     
  6. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    I've had a crack at 'fixing' it in photoshop but I'm not sure if I've overdone it a bit.

    Let me know what you think.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,241
    I think its nicer as it was. I wouldn't resize the image either as it will soften , just crop it into three equal sized images based on the original resolution Ignore dpi , its the image resolution that matters.
     
  8. MattTheBeanster

    MattTheBeanster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +122
    agreed :)

    in PS maybe try "Image/Adjustments/Curves/Auto", see what you think.
     
  9. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Thanks for the comments guys.

    I'm using Photoshop Elements 4 - I don't think I get the curves tool!

    ... for some reason the version on my screen in PE4 looks a lot brighter and deeper than the one on the forum pages. :confused:
     
  10. MattTheBeanster

    MattTheBeanster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +122
    my appologies mate, i assumed. don't know about elements :(

    image looks pretty good to me anyway :thumbsup:
     
  11. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    I'm downloading the free trial from Adobe's website now to try it!
     
  12. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    ....Or stick with Elements and try these free plug ins
     
  13. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Thanks, but

    :(
     
  14. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +309
    Here is a quick digital version.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,598
    Nice presentation Pete, did you use grid options to split it or by eye?
     
  16. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +309
    Eye, using the free transform tool :smashin:
     
  17. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    Cheers Pete, that looks fab.

    I've ordered a test print of the 'tweaked' version and might have just been persuaded to splash the cash and get it printed up as you have shown if the test print looks ok.

    Great work :smashin:

    EDIT: Your version appears to have been 'tweaked' some more. The foreground has been lifted and now looks a lot stronger and the blue sky looks much better too.

    Is it possible to get your file? or better still the 3 you have used to compile the mock up!

    Any tips on where / who to print it onto canvas?

    Thanks
     
  18. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +309
    Sure, PM your email and I will send it over. Cracking shot. :thumbsup:
     
  19. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    You're a star. PM on its way.

    It was a couple of quick snaps taken in a lay by whilst on a 'comfort break' during a trip to Loch Lomond in January. Its amazing what some decent PP can do!
     
  20. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,241
    Still think the original is much nicer looking , the tweaked one is overly saturated.
     
  21. h4rri

    h4rri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +159
    :rotfl: A 'comfort break' must have different meaning down here or I hope the layby was emtpy before you headed to the bushes :D

    I prefer the original too tbh
     
  22. £note

    £note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Skye
    Ratings:
    +13
  23. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230

    I was busting!


    Thanks, but they still seem an awful lot more expensive than www.intelligence-direct.com

    They will print at any size / proportions too.
     
  24. h4rri

    h4rri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +159
    :D

    Nice find, I like the idea of the test print to check the quality prior to order too, got a couple of prints I want 'canvassed' so might just look at them. Cheers mate :)
     
  25. grantsteve

    grantsteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +230
    I can't take credit for either I'm afraid!

    Someone suggested the test print earlier in this thread, and I found the reference to intelligence direct and their good customer service whilst doing a search in the photography section.... I think it was hutters that used them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice