1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Single Cat5 cable for speaker?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by ciarancummins, Apr 4, 2005.

1. ciarancummins

ciarancummins
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Has anyone just used a single cat5 cable, with 4 strands for +,- and get good resulting sound?

I am wiring a new house up for 7.1 surround and have installed CAT5 cable for the rear and surround speakers. I only used a single strand of solid core cable for each speaker and plan to split the colour/whites for each. I am probably going to buy the canton CD1's as I am new to AV setup. I had been reading up on the braided cat5 speaker cable and had planed on doing that, but a good friend of mine, who knows/likes his music, said the single run works "fine". I plan on using the braided cat5 for fronts, but due to lack of space in a chased wall channel for a fireplace mounted center, would like to just use a single cable for it.

Advice appreciated,
    Ciaran

2. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    Should be fine. I know a few people who have done this and they seem more than happy.

3. Reiner

Reiner

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ask yourself this: would you use bell wire for your speakers? If yes then CAT5 will certainly be an alternative.

Personally I think the idea of using CAT5 for speakers is somewhat exaggerated. Sure, it works, but the resulting diameter will be rather small and that mixed with long runs results in a very high resistance.

4. ciarancummins

ciarancummins
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0