1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simply system noise?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by AVnovice, Jul 4, 2004.

1. AVnovice

AVnovice

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I am an AV novice. And, I need help.

I have system noise that is getting worse or, at least, more annoying.

I have a Denon AVR-3300 hooked to two (old but good) KEF reference series 103/3 front L and R speakers with above average but not top of the line speaker wire. And I have an annoying amount of feedback/interference noise that I can hear from the listening postion when:

1. Nothing is on and the volume is down to zero (or -60 on the Denon, range is -60 to +10 I think with + 10 being the loudest). The system noise obviously increases when the volume is turned up. I know that some system noise is normal with self generated noise and RFI interference but to hear it at zero volume is annoying.

2. When watching television and DVD's. The "listening volume" for these two mediums is about -35 to -15 and I can pretty much hear the noise at all of those levels. I have standard gold tip RCA cables connecting my large screen TV to the Denon and a fiberoptic cable connecting the dvd.

3. The noise is MUCH louder when the Denon has been turned off for several hours and then turned on again. I assume this is a warming up period and it lasts an hour or so I just leave the thing on.

There is no noticeable system noise from the listening position when playing CD's and the listening volume ranges from only -50 to -35. I assume that has something to do with the gain but it sure would be nice to somehow have the tv/dvd listening volume at those levels and then the noise would probably not be so noticeable.

I have tried