Question Simple storage question

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Smallclone, Jul 24, 2018.

  1. Smallclone

    Smallclone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +227
  2. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,702
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,079
    At that price just the enclosure, its just telling you the max capacity
     
  3. Smallclone

    Smallclone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +227
    Thanks. It really doesn't make that clear anywhere.
     
  4. Atavus

    Atavus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +182
    The enclosure is about £90 on Amazon and you’d get 2TB for £140.
     
  5. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,755
    IMHO a "wireless NAS" is not a good idea unless there's no alternative: NAS ought to be "wired" to your router using ethernet.
     
  6. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    Whilst I agree with the others, it is badly written in terms of spec I am wondering if they have the price wrong....

    There is an empty one and a 4TB drive one listed both at the expected (ish) prices.
     
  7. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    Anybody going to risk ordering one ... :) and return if not as described

    The weight of it is the same as the 4TB, heavier than the unpopulated one.

    However Buffalo don't list this model on their site ....
     
  8. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    I think somebody has gone the description wrong as the 520 is a wired NAS. Looking on the manufacturer website 520 isn't a wireless one but wired.
     
  9. B17NNS

    B17NNS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +116
  10. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    Yes that's the only 16TB one I can see on the web, nothing on Buffalo's own website.

    Incidentally I chatted twice now with PC World support the first one the transcript didn't come through via email. The second one did, both times they confirmed that it would come with 16TB when asked if it came with drives .....

    Clearly I know they are just reading the specs but am half tempted to order and see. They do offer a diskless one and one stated as 4TB on the website at roughly the right prices.

    If you do a compare between the 3 it does state disks in both the 16TB and 4TB one

    I did ask if I could return it to a local store and they also said yes....

    I am wondering whether to order on the basis they have screwed up, the worst case will it be returned. 8TB drives themselves cost more than the price of this.
     
  11. dhts

    dhts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +308
    If you want it and don't mind returning it I'd order it. It's listed like the 4TB one which has to include the discs. Whilst it supports wireless I'm sure it has a lan port for wired connection. Hey, I don't want one and I'm still thinking of ordering one !
     
  12. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    Just seen somebodies review of the 4TB drive saying they had ordered a 16TB and got a 4TB one instead ... :(
     
  13. dhts

    dhts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +308
    Link now states it's a 2TB unit, not 16TB.
     
  14. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    Yep I emailed customer services, haven't had a response but looks like they have updated it....
     
  15. Bryn1

    Bryn1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +155
    Not sure where you are paying £140 for 2TB but you can get 4TB WD Red for <£130 from comms express
     
  16. Atavus

    Atavus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +182
    The topic being discussed is the Buffalo Linkstation.
     
  17. Bryn1

    Bryn1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +155
    I appreciate that however, you stated that the op would have to pay £140 for 2TB of storage, all I did was mention that at that price he would easily obtain double the amount of storage for the same price.
    I was not in any way trying to detract from the original topic just merely adding additional info which I thought might be of interest to the op :thumbsup:
     
  18. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
    It's a shame at £158 16TB would have be bargain of the month :D
     
  19. Atavus

    Atavus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +182
    It’s £50 on top of the price of the empty enclosure to get a 2TB version.
     
  20. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,306
  21. insomniac123

    insomniac123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I used to have a buffalo NAS a long time ago, it was good in it's day but there's better now. Assuming you want it to store 'backups', I'd suggest you look at QNAP. Runs plex server, easy admin tools, great raid features if you need more than 2 drives.
     

Share This Page

Loading...