1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple question

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by roligan, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need a cheap digital camera that also allows me to transfer the video to my laptop. I don't need it for anything else than filming my kids golfswing and then transfer the film into a golf swing analyzer.

    My laptop has 2 USB ports and 1 S-video. I assume I can't use Firewire right?

    Would a Sony Digital Handycam TRV130E work?

    I have also seen this one

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DV-182-3-1-MP...548791354QQcategoryZ96996QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    which is only 12.99.

    Any input is very appreciated.

    Roligan
     
  2. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have done some more research.
    I have Sony CCD-TRV62 NTSC video HI8 camera.

    Can I use the Belkin capture device to tansfer video from my analogue Sony to my laptop? As mentioned earlier my laptop has 2 USB ports and a S-video connection.

    Roligan
     
  3. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,203
    yes you should be able to do that no problem!
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    An analogue camcorder should work fine for your requirements as picture quality is not going to be too important. A simple USB analogue capture device will be all you need to get the footage onto the PC.

    Mark.
     
  5. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I got the USB Videobus II. Which connection produces the best transfer S-video or the RCA?

    Roligan
     
  6. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which one is best for transfer and in general?
     
  7. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The pack says on the back Windows 98, 98 SE, 2000 and ME.

    I have Win XP Professional.

    When I try to install VideoWave I get an error message saying can't find DirectX, then I click 'next' and it says 'Please wait while DXMedia 6.0 is being installed'. Then it just sits there and nothing is being read from the CD.

    I think I'm f*&ked..........
     
  8. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
  9. Paul_Maycock

    Paul_Maycock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stick with S-Video.
     
  10. roligan

    roligan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm capturing the pictures but no sound. Does the sound also come thru the S-video connecting or do I have to connect the RVA audio cables?

    When I click on settings and audio and then chose USB Videobus I get the following error message 'An error occured while connecting to audio device'. If I chose Crystal WDM Audio I get no error message.

    No matter what I chose under audio or if I have the RCA cable connected or not I don't capture any sound.

    Any suggestions?
     
  11. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sound will not be carried through S-video , only picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...