1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple question on Sky->dvd->plasma setup

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bkny, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been searching for the answer to this simple question for a while now, but can't seem to find the right thread in the Plasma or cabling forms. I remember seeing a discussion on this but can't find it again dammit.

    Anyway, I am soon to have a PV500. All I need to do is connect my (not-so-good probably) Amstrad Sky box, DMRES10 dvd recorder and plasma together. Whats the best way to do this? I am guessing:

    1) DVD->Plasma - component leads
    2) Sky->DVD - Scart
    3) Sky->Plasma - RGB scart

    The 3rd one is the one I am not sure about. I am assuming that 3) will give me best picture, as viewing sky through sky->DVD->plasma would involve loss of pic quality. And I use 2) for recordning telly.

    The question is do I need all 3, or will 1) and 2) be enough?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    how about Sky(RGB scart)>ES10(Component)>Plasma
     
  3. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good. But in very rough/approx terms how much will this reduce the quality of the Sky picture to the plasma. The wife and kids will be watching a lot of Sky and its a lot easier (in terms of justifying cost) to buy everything up front. So if there is an obvious answer to the question (i.e. this will reduce PQ by approx. 20%) then I'll buy all necessary cabling now. Also I have an Amstrad Sky box, which may not be the best.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    should have no visible impact on Sky quality
     
  5. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    errrm ... i have been doing a bit of reading and it seems that "RGB only" scarts carry video signals only. So how do you connect the Sky box to the DVD:

    Sky (RGB Scart) -> DVD
    Sky (audio combined with scart or separate connection) -> DVD
    DVD (component) -> Plasma

    I don't have an amp and separate speaker system as we don;t want lots of speakers and cabling around the room, so relying on the TV for now for sound.

    Sorry if this is a stoopid question, I am firmly in the newbie camp ...
     
  6. puntograle

    puntograle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also add a fully wired scart between the DVD Recorder and the Plasma (I think over AV2 or AV4 sockets). Fully wired will support both sound and vision.

    The PV500 supports Q-link with the DVD Recorder over these connections. It might not be something you use often, but gives you the possiblility of recording off the Freeview tuner in the Plasma over to the DVD Recorder. The TV can automatically control the ES10 for recordings over this connection.
     
  7. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the suggestion, but not going to use the freeview tuner as the tv aerial goes to the upstairs bedroom and don't have the energy to split it and feed into the living room aswell, although i agree its probably a good idea!
     
  8. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    another question ... if I do use component video i also need to buy some sort of audio lead from the dvd player to the plasma aswell ro does that normally come integreated into the component video lead ...

    and the original question:

    errrm ... i have been doing a bit of reading and it seems that "RGB only" scarts carry video signals only. So how do you connect the Sky box to the DVD:

    Sky (RGB Scart) -> DVD
    Sky (audio combined with scart or separate connection) -> DVD
    DVD (component) -> Plasma

    I don't have an amp and separate speaker system as we don;t want lots of speakers and cabling around the room, so relying on the TV for now for sound.

    Sorry if this is a stoopid question, I am firmly in the newbie camp ...
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    with component you need an audio lead too component does not carry sound
     
  10. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    In my experience connecting SKY+ > ES10 > AV1 (RGB) does degrade the picture - don't know about a component connection from the ES10, but would expect the same. This may also be due to my crappy Scart cables, but with a dedicated RGB connection (AV1) from SKY+ to the PV500 the picture is fabulous. Stick the ES10 on AV4 or component.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmm not used an ES10 but e55 e65 was fine ...........odd perhaps the RGB scart on PV500 is better than the previous veira but on the PE30 E55 combo was fine, but the RGB on the PE30 was suspect at best
     
  12. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    When HD says RGB Scart it doesn't mean you have to use an RGB only scart connection from your Sky box to the recorder, a fully wired scart carrying the RGB signal from Sky into the RGB enabled scart input of the DVD will do. Although you of course cab use an RGB Only scart with separate audio if you prefer.
     
  13. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys i think i know what i need to do now ... if not i'll find out for myself soon enough, plasma being delivered tomorrow and wall mounting it on Saturday!
     

Share This Page

Loading...