1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple & Inexpensive signal distribution and control

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by jblandford, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. jblandford

    jblandford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there

    Need a touch of advice :hiya:

    Take look at the attached - all sources in living room (upstairs) are scart through to b-tech switcher then on to Tosh TV and Yamaha AV amp

    Existing hard cable connection from sky box (co-ax, bypassing old distribution amp (not sky eye compatible) to dining room downstairs (through loft which is beside living room but not possible to run cable apart from existing co-ax that can be utilised (was the origonal aerial lead)

    Old amp in the loft has connections to all rooms via co-ax

    I need to be able to use the sky box AND DVD player in all rooms and control them both

    How do I do this via the existing co-ax (happy to replace the distribution amp) without any re-cabling

    Oh - yes - I also run wireless networking!

    Bit tough this one!

    J :lease:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. frensham

    frensham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Billericay, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not 100% but I have a loftbox in my house. The sat feed comes into my receiver, then into the loft box. From there it is distributed as rf signal via the various coax's (bedrooms I have).
    We can watch and change the sky in any room.

    have a look at www.tv-link.com

    David
     
  3. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are likely to be several variations on the same theme :) but if you want to use the old coax then the simplest route is probably to get a modulated RF signal from the DVD and Sky box. You could use the modulator in the VCR or get a separate modulator eg http://www.letsautomate.com/11104.cfm? The suggestion from frensham may be best for Sky (I don't really know much about Sky).

    For the control side you can use some Xantech kit to get the IR on and off the coax eg http://www.letsautomate.com/11913.cfm?

    You may find the dedicated Sky stuff is better for Sky control. Indeed the Xantech kit may not even work for Sky. I am sure the guys at Let's Automate would help you out with this. I haven't tried any of this kit and you could probably obtain it from a number of sources but I have always had good success with the support and service at Let's Automate.

    You may be disappointed with quality of the output using modulated RF but it is probably the simplest approach if you want/need to stick with the coax.

    I hope this helps.

    David
     
  4. jblandford

    jblandford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thankyou so much for the pointers so far :smashin:

    J
     

Share This Page

Loading...