1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simpad PCMCIA card

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Mr_Wistles, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Hello,

    Can someone tell me what Wi FI PCMCIA card I need to integrate my Simpad SL4 on to my wireless network and where I could buy one from?

    Thanks,

    Russell
     
  2. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
  3. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    I bought a standard PCMCIA card and the tablet does not even recognise it.

    Can somebody who has a Simpad confirm that this will work.

    Thanks,

    Russ
     
  4. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,718
    There are no CE drivers for that D-Link card so it won't work.

    I run an old Cisco Aironet 350 in mine. It's natively supported by the CE 4.1 OS so no need for drivers. Should be able to pick one up on Ebay.

    I think the other brand that is natively supported is Orinocco. Hopefully someone else can confirm.
     
  5. cablecar

    cablecar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there

    Orinnoco silver works in mine, should be able to pick one up on ebay, I think there is a company that sell there that know which cards are compatible.

    Cablecar
     
  6. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Cheers for the Orinoco silver recommendation it works great and I am typing this message from the Simpad
     

Share This Page

Loading...