1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sim2 Introduce DVI to VGA Converter

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by RTFM, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have just taken delivery of DVI to VGA converter which is HDCP compliant.

    This will be a very useful device for users of projectors that do not have a digital input or have a digital input that is not HDCP compliant.

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'm sure that must be in breach of some license, given what scaler makers like Lumagen have said about their equipment having to disable analog outputs when processing HDCP-crippled inputs.

    Are you sure there are no caveats about this in terms of resolution supported?
     
  3. Ahmadof

    Ahmadof
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, that sounds perfect (although is it too good to be true?). Where can I get hold of it?
     
  4. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    How much is it and do you have them in stock Jeff?
     
  5. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    And,will it improve me piccy on the 200DM?
     
  6. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Phil,

    The converter is only going to be of use if you have digital signals, ie. HDMI or DVI that you wish to feed your Sim2 HT200DM.

    The cost is £295 inc VAT and we do have them in stock.

    Regards

    Jeff
     
  7. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    will it improve the picture at all on my 200dm though?I have a panny s97 at the the mo,or what sort of deal you do me with the ex dem domino 20 you have?
     
  8. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Phil, the converter is just that, a converter. It won't improve the picture quality on your existing sources but will allow you to feed signals such as HDMI or DVI to your projector even if these sources are HDCP compliant.

    The Domino 20 would be a profound upgrade on your 200DM in all areas, ie. true wide screen 16:9 chip, higher res chip (1024x576 as opposed to 800x600 or 848x480), 12 degree mirrors giving much higher contrast (2000 to 1 as opposed to 600 to 1 ), built in Faroudja de-interlacing, much quieter...........

    Jeff
     
  9. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Jeff,

    Would connecting through this converter break the full digital chain ( hdmi/dvi - hdmi/dvi)?

    How would the image benefit through the use of this convertor to feed the PJ? Let's supose the DVD player is the Denon 2910 and the PJ the Sim Domino 20...

    How would this image be compared with the component progressive output of the DVD player?

    Consider all cables are high quality... by the way what are the max size advisable for DVI and for the VGA cables?

    Any other advantages of using the converter?

    If anybody besides Jeff want to answer you are very welcome :smashin:
     
  10. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    So is this a way to get a hi def picture to my HT300 from say, the new Sky hi def box or a future hd-dvd player?
     
  11. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys, regarding my own first question, of course it breaks the digital chain, VGA was always analog! :blush:

    However what I really wanted to know was some kind of comparison between the full digital chain vs. the use of this converter.

    Common guys, wake up! :clap:

    At least an opinion :lease:

    It sure is godzilla! :smashin:
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Is this just the Korean box again?
     

Share This Page

Loading...