SIM2 HT200DMF vs SIM2 domino

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Dak, Aug 28, 2003.

  1. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone managed to compare these yet?
     
  2. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    Ask Jeff Paynter of www.projectorsareus.co.uk, he has had both recently on demo, and may still have the 200.

    The 200DMF had excellent colour and skin tones, a very smooth a pleasing image. The Domino should be very similar in that respect, but with higher res and contrast. Excellent price retailing at around £3750. May street even cheaper.

    Gary.
     
  3. gavins

    gavins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    oops. :blush:

    I saw the new Domino today - very nice indeed!

    What was even more impressive was seeing it display some High Def material from digital tape. Best image I've ever seen on a projector so far! DVD by comparison is severely lacking as a medium, so lets hope we start getting HD over here in one form or another sooner rather than later. DVD compared to HD is like VHS compared to DVD, the background images being noticably more fuzzy than the crisp sharp picture I saw HD deliver.

    The Domino has got to be a bargain - Sim processing and optics with the new Matterhorn chip for just £3750. They seem to be selling faster than Sim can supply them, so you'd better get in the queue. :)

    Gary
     
  5. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi there, so how does the DMF compare now to the domino - do you think the extra bit of resolution makes a difference?

    I have a DMF and love it but have always wondered what it would be like getting a higher resolution projecotor to watch movies/play xbox with.

    thanks

    CaM
     
  6. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    And what inputs did the Domino have?
    How noisy?
    Does it really look like a toaster?
    Dak
     
  7. gavins

    gavins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here are some links with pictures of the Domino (all German or Austrian I think). I was so settled on the ht200dmf, but now I've discovered the Domino, and I've got to start deciding all over again!

    http://www.clausbuecheraudio.de/sim2/domino.html

    http://www.dvdstore.at/domino.htm

    http://www.grandcinema.de/prd_domino.html

    http://www.hometoys.com/show_news.php4?section=enhancedview&id=18644700

    http://www.crtprojectors.co.uk/srvd_400us.jpg

    (Yes, that last one is nothing to do with the Domino, but it is quite nice :)
     
  8. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +108
    Don't get me wrong the domino is a great machine. But it is easily surpassed by higher end machines. True its very closed to an HT300, but this is old technology.

    Now a really good DLP would be the Immersive Vituoso, this is a stunning machine.

    It is also very easy to be blown away by the instant differences that are apparent when you see HD for the first time. However once you are used to the format you can start to be critical again :)

    In case you are wondering i have seen the Domino in depth and compared it to other machines.
     
  9. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    gavins, good links. I didn't realise that their are actually two versions (had heard a rumour).
    I wonder what the £ will be for each in the UK and what the differences are (visually I mean, I read the specs)...


    X3ELS, but in the £3750 price bracket for use with 'standard' cable and DVD ?
     
  10. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    Replying to myself again :blush: :blush:

    Gary, which one did you see?:smoke:
     
  11. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    I saw the Domino 20. I also saw it with a High Def feed from digital tape - that really shows what an xga or Matterhorn chip can do with the right source. DVD is like VHS in comparison.

    I think that unless you sit close enough for the screendoor to be apparent with 848 x 480, then the upgrade may not be worthwhile.

    The Domino 30 may have the HD2+ chip, but not sure.

    The Domino 20 doesn't quite look like a bread bin, but the front doesn't slope as much, so has a squarer look too it. It was pretty quiet too - I wonder if the new design was to allow for that.

    You can get cheaper xga projectors with Faroudja DCDi, but the matterhorn chip means that you don't lose any lumens like you do if using the xga pjs in widescreen mode (like the HT1000 for instance).

    Have a chat with Jeff at Projectorsareus - he's very knowledgable and should be able to answer all your questions.

    Gary.
     
  12. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, HS10 with 720p, 1080i etc...leaves DVD for dead. DVD is little more than a "poor relation" by comparison.
     
  13. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    I hate "me too" posts................ but I just can't resist this time !!:blush:

    .......... hits the nail on the head. The HD stuff I've seen (compliments of Kramer), is complete gobsmacking eye candy - While the reolution of the HS10 is definitely an advantage, it still looks brill on the AE100.

    Can you imagine the Premiership or the European Championships in HD ???? I have no idea if SKY (or any of the terrsetial broadcasters intend to adopt hidef, I'd say that the investment would be significant, but I really envy the US having HBO, NBA, Discovery and National Geographic etc. in HiDef.

    I know that movie material is available on tape but afaik it's fairly limited, and the hardware investment is too rich for my blood - Oh well, there's always the Lotto to deam about !


    Droool over !


    Sean G.
     
  14. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apologies in advance for thread hijack, but Sean, have a look here.

    It's coming :clap:

    Thread hijack over :)
     
  15. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    So to hi-jack back and combine, can the Sim2 handle the HD thingy when it hits us?
     
  16. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    I saw the Domino 20 (Matterhorne chip) with a Hi def feed via Digital Video, and yes it can handle it - the US version anyway. :)

    If the 20 can, then so can all the others I would say. If the output is vga or dvi, then I would guess that most newer projectors with those inputs should be able to do it. Even the HT1000 is capable, and that's getting on a bit now. :)

    I'm assuming that Euro 1080i will be the same, just 50hz like the Oz version.

    Gary.
     
  17. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    Gary,

    Please be more specific as to what HiDef digital source was used and what digital connection method.

    Gordon
     
  18. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    The video was 'Bikini Destinations' IIRC, and it was on a US D-Video player. I can't remember the details, but I'll try and get them for you.

    Gary.
     
  19. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    The source was HD-Net 'Bikini Destinations' on High Def DVHS tape played on a JVC 30000 VCR using component output at 1920x1080 into a Sim2 Domino 20 and a Sim2 HT 300 Link.

    Jeff
     
  20. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,764
    Thanks Jeff - I was gonna have to ask you anyway.. :)

    How's the Link going? Any more improvents recently?

    Gary.
     
  21. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Gary, the new Sim2 HT 300 Link is looking very good and is much quieter than the previous Sim2 models.

    Jeff
     
  22. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    Jeff: Thanks for that. So it was an Analogue HiDef feed to the Sim2 processor. From Garry's post I thought he was going DVI or Firewire out of an HD source to the DVI in on the PJ.

    Cheers,

    Gordon
     
  23. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Gordon, yes it was HD analogue into the Sim2 HT300 Link.
    T2 Extreme / Media Player 9/ DVI into the Link didn't look too shabby either.
    I haven't been able to try the HDMI input yet.

    Jeff
     
  24. Dak

    Dak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chislehurst
    Ratings:
    +1
    So the Domino sounds like a nice bit of kit. Will it go with a draper screen well?
     
  25. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    It will go with any respectable screen.
    I use a matt white screen myself.
     
  26. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Don't get me wrong the domino is a great machine. But it is easily surpassed by higher end machines. True its very closed to an HT300, but this is old technology.

    Now a really good DLP would be the Immersive Vituoso, this is a stunning machine.

    It is also very easy to be blown away by the instant differences that are apparent when you see HD for the first time. However once you are used to the format you can start to be critical again

    In case you are wondering i have seen the Domino in depth and compared it to other machines.

    x3cels - I would be grateful if you could explain why the HT300 uses old technology when it features the Hd2+ DLP chipset and the immersive uses HD2?

    Regards


    Alan Roser
    Managing Director
    SIM2 UK Ltd
     
  27. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
  28. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Gordon,

    The original HT300 HD used the HD1, The HT300 Plus used the HD2 and the new HT300 Xtra along with the Link uses the HD2+ along with some enhancements on optics, colour wheel and of course using the latest Faroudja chip set.

    The Domino 20 uses the Matterhorn and the Domino 30 uses HD2

    By the way, couldn't find our invite to participate the Event II- probably got lost in the post ;)


    Regards

    Alan Roser
    SIM2 UK Ltd
     
  29. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +108
    Alan,

    If you re-read my post carefully i stated that i compared the domino to the HT300. Which as you have stated above utilises the HD1 chipset.

    I think you will therefore agree that the comment 'old technology' does in fact apply.

    I will let Gordon answer the Event question.......
     
  30. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,042
    Alan,

    Really sorry about that , no offence intended. No one got personal invites. I just posted to my customers and on the forums. Manufacturers then got in touch privately offering support, which I eagerly accepted.

    If there's news on those pics I sent you I'd appreciate an email or call.

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice