1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sim City 4 disappointing

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by HMHB, Jan 21, 2003.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    I've had this game since Sunday and can't believe they've produced this mediocre game. I think it's a step back from Sim City 3000. Anyone else got it ?
     
  2. lentini

    lentini
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Dog Eater
    Ratings:
    +455
    I agree, been playing it for a bit today and I'm really disappointed with it. Nothing new at all, just prettier graphics.
     
  3. Ixon

    Ixon
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan, England
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think the game good never had Sim City 3000 thou.
     
  4. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Most reviews I've read have said if you have 3000 you don't need this at all. 3000 is an awesome game.

    Neil.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    I have SC3000 - but it doesn't run properly on my new XP computer and so I bought SC4 - and now wished that I hadn't !

    I would imagine that for anyone who hasn't had any previous version then SC4 would be great
     
  6. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had SC3000 and bought SC4 yesterday. Personally, I think it's much better, better graphics and tools and options.

    My only problem is that it's running a little slow - the screen takes time to refresh. I suspect it's my video cards, I might check them out and update them.

    Just my two pennyworth.
    Collin
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    Lots of people with high spec computers are complaining about laggy game play - so it might not be your computer that's at fault. One of my major gripes is that there is no "Save as" facility in this version (there has been in all the others) and so every time you save your city you overwrite the last saved copy. If a problem occurs you can't go back to a previous save. I used to use this to try out various ideas for the city and compare the results - you can no longer do this
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you have a Sound blaster try switching off hardware accelleration.
     
  9. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Soundblaster audio or video?
     
  10. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Soundblaster -> Sound -> Audio :D

    Cheers,
    Neil.
     
  11. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :)

    Soundblaster have started doing video cards. Hence the question! :D

    I will try this. Thanks.
     
  12. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    soundblaster havent started doing video cards, 'creative' who make soundblaster cards have started making video cards ;)
     
  13. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sit here humbly corrected :)

    You would have thought that being a semi-intelligent IT engineer I would have been able to differentiate between Creative and Soundblaster! :blush:
     
  14. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    he he! :)

    creative cards are also pretty poo for the record too :D
     
  15. Ace Ventura

    Ace Ventura
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was advertised on the tele the other day. How many Simcities can they do before they become repetative?
     

Share This Page

Loading...