Silicone Grease on LNB Copper Coax Question

Minuno

Standard Member
I'm fitting a new LNB for my neighbour today and bought some silicone grease to prevent the woven copper sheath degrading over time, can I ask please do you smear this on the woven copper braid and also on the copper central core that slides into the LNB or just on the braid? Not being an expert I don't know if it's just in the strands or also on the central copper core?.

Any help please?

grahamlthompson

In memoriam
Dip the prepared end of the cable into the grease to cover everything.

Minuno

Standard Member
Dip the prepared end of the cable into the grease to cover everything.

I'm just concerned about getting grease inside of the actual LNB unit?, so strip the cable , fold the strands back , and insert al this into the silicone grease ?. It won't short anything ? Thanks. If the copper inner core is covered in grease how is the signal transferred thanks?.

TJT1

Distinguished Member
The plug 'cuts through' the grease when you screw it on. Don't put too much in the plug itself. a smear on the central conductor and a smear on the threads of the LNB. Then wrap the whole lot in self amalgamating tape for a really water and corrosion proof connection.

grahamlthompson

In memoriam
I'm just concerned about getting grease inside of the actual LNB unit?, so strip the cable , fold the strands back , and insert al this into the silicone grease ?. It won't short anything ? Thanks. If the copper inner core is covered in grease how is the signal transferred thanks?.

The grease is a dialectric it won't short anything, it's effectively an insulator. Thoroughly grease unused outputs, it will prevent moisture corroding them. It's great for your car battery terminals as well. The lnb is sealed there's no way it can get inside the lnb. As already said the connection cuts through the grease and at the same time stops moisture corrosion.