Signficant loss of networking speed!

darrenxh

Standard Member
Hello all - I am a networking novice, so go easy on me....

I have a router in the house - getting 30mbps download / 10 mbps upload.
I have an outbuilding (seperate from the house) with lots of requirement for wifi/internet.
I have a 50m cable buried from the router to the outbuilding - it is cat6.

When it enters the outbuilding the speed has dropped to 10 mbps download / 9 mbps upload (so losing 20 mbps on download and 1 mbps on upload).
As it comes into the outbuilding it goes into a netgear 8 port switch. If I connect a laptop directly via a cable to the router, the speed again loses a little - to 8bps on download, but maintains the 9 mbps on upload). I have 3 wifi hotpsots coming off the router in the outbuilding - when I connect via wifi to one of these and I get a large drop to 2.5mbps download but still 9 mbps upload.

My question ... is it usual to see such a drop on download speed over a) the 50m cable run [as I thought this was the most efficient way to do this] b) why the degregation only on download c) is it usual to also see the 66% drop from the router speed to the wifi hotspot speed?

How can I fix this - its rather urgent I do so!! All help will be appreciated!

Darren

neilball

How are you measuring speeds? If it’s internet based speed tests then this may be variable do would not be the greatest way to check the local wiring. Are you also sure that no one else is using bandwidth on the network while you are attempting your tests?

How have you wired up the cable - directly crimped RJ45 plugs at each end or punch down modules with patch leads? What wiring configuration did you use (hopefully TIA-568B or A). Have you tested the cable? Is it full copper Cat6 and not copper clad aluminium (in which case it should not be labelled as Cat6)?