Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

signal strength/

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by DustySox, Aug 22, 2005.

  1. DustySox

    DustySox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi,

    I am using a D-link G604t wireless router. It runs quite happily my desktop and laptop, however with the laptop I have noticed that those little annoying pop ups that tell you speed signal strength etc shows that signal strenghth is always good to very good, unlike the speed which seems to be all over the place.It can as low as 1Mbps and sometimes 11Mbps. How would I "up" the speed as it can take an "age" to open web pages even on a broadband connection?

    ATB

    Darren
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    it auto-negotiates the connection speed based on the signal quality....

    screwing one of these on the back should sort things out.. ;)
     
  3. DustySox

    DustySox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Dude,

    Do you mean screw this into the wireless router?

    ATB

    Darren
     
  4. DustySox

    DustySox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +10
  5. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    yeah, it will go straight on there... you should see a signal improvement of 100% or more, the 2db antenna supplied with WAP/Routers are amazingly bad at what they do...

    the actual problem is partly with the reception on your laptop, but boosting the output from the router is the best/cheapest solution.. :smashin:
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    hahahh - I was pretty sure the antenna is detachable on your 604...? if it does, you'll be fine.. Solwise must have an out of date spec, it will definitely have the RevSMA connector if it screws off.... :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice