Signal Strength 9E 13E

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by logiciel, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Someone tell me their experience of how they compare?
     
  2. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,969
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    I wouldn't think 9E is much weaker if any than 13E. It is certainly strong enough that a newbie can mistake it for 13E when installing a 60cm dish. :blush:
     
  3. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    which frequencies
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Thanks kevkbuk - as I thought!
    I'll tell you why I asked now - a friend had an installer to fix him a 60cm dish for 9E - they said they couldn't find it at all, but did find 13E perfectly, and left him with that.
    Pedro - would frequencies make a difference?
    All the best to both.
    Logi
     
  5. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063

    yes- there is a whole spectrum of frequencies... some are stronger or weaker here than others - but now we know what's what .....on a rough average overall.. 13e frequencies are a bit stronger but both have very strong tps on them.

    there is an overall power issue though .... Hotbird has far more tps & channels thus has higher overall power output- many cheaper meters will show Hotbird as much stronger than 9e.
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Thanks - again as I thought.
    Yes, he got hundreds of channels on 13 and was looking for far fewer on 9.
     
  7. winston2010

    winston2010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +166
    9E only has high band frequencies i.e. above 11.7GHz.
    Any installer that cannot find 9E is obviously NOT an installer. Probably a sparks who recons he can add satellite to his portfolio.

    Of couse a cheap sat beaper would probably not switch the LNB to high band anyway. No proper installer would use a cheap sat beaper.

    I hope your friend didn't pay, I wouldn't have done.
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Excellent point - thank you.
    I knew it had only the high frequencies but didn't realise that some meters can't find them!
    Could you expand on that a little so that I can report back on it?
    Apparently it was the lowest quote he got.;)
     
  9. winston2010

    winston2010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +166
    To switch the LNB to high band needs a 22KHz tone. Cheap sat beepers do not provide this. I don't know if they will pass it from the connected receiver if it is set to a high band frequency.

    An installer should use a proper sat meter such as the Horizon costing several hundred pounds.

    There is always a reason for a low quote as he has found out.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2011
  10. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    yes it does if it's connected between as they are designed to be used like that .. but it's still a good point that they are only high band & a slightly better meter or self powering a cheapo meter could cause that issue.

    Also 9e has 10e right next to it [& 7e on the other side 2 degrees off] so that also makes it a little harder..

    what's on 9e


    & all the best btw..
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011
  11. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +398
    A few hundred miles makes the difference then, up here 9E edges it on strength for the most part.
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    So the simplest way would be to use the receiver instead of the meter?
    The new channel Trace Sports is one of the free HD channels.
     
  13. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +398
    The first time a went looking for 9E was with my trusty old Zone 2 programed my receiver with a transponder that wasnt a doubler on 13E, moved the dish arm about 4mm & bam found it, didnt even adjust the elevation. :smashin:
     
  14. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    The best one is the installer that turns up with the most expensive meter hanging round his neck ... & hasn't got a clue

    Then you get the guy that turns up & you could give him a piece of string & a bit of chalk & he'd build you a Jodrell Bank.. [if you wanted one] ... but more importantly.. he'll get the most out of the gear he uses & override & put right poor design & poor quality build on gear [& meters].

    but not to be able to find 9e is a bit of a joke... we get 9e on every motorised install without giving it a thought ...

    what meter did he use ... & there isn't a big chimney or tree etc.. sometimes they do go invisible until you do this... :facepalm:
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Thanks for that experience with it Gl - sounds like a two minute DIY job then to put it right?!

    I'll ask about the meter Pedro, but I know it's an absolutely clear line of sight.
     
  16. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    Trace Sports HD is on 23.5e too which is even easier - it does have some good general sports & footy programming on it..


    There's Fox Sports HD [ME] fta on 30w btw... [almost as strong] .. very nice of 'em.. more US sports obviously.. [there's a few fta HD & 3D on there atm]
     
  17. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    wasn't these was it :laugh:
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    They're a lot too far away, but it was a tragi-comedy reading about them!
    And yes, 23.5 was the original plan, but it's a fraction too far E for the location - and thanks for that about 30W.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice