Question Sigma 105mm Macro Canon Fit type and adaptors for X mount

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by topgazza, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    Is it safe to assume that my Sigma 105mm Macro DG lens,Canon fit, is compatible with Canon FE lens ?

    I'm looking for an adaptor to fit it to my new Fuji X mount and teh Sigma website really doesn't say
     
  2. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
    You mean canon ef. Yes.
     
  3. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    Indeed... there aren't many adaptors out there and no "smart" electronic ones. Fotodix do a non electronic one with an Iris Control which I assume acts as a control to stop down the aperture.. be it all guess work ? Which is OK as the lens will be wide open by default although I prefer macro at F8-F11 so whilst exposure will be OK for max sharpness I'll have to learn.

    Shame to get rid of the lens as its an absolute gem and Fuji only do a 60mm macro which is only 1:2 but to be honest some of my best shots were with prime lenses anyway which aren't 1:1 as they crop so well.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2015
  4. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
  5. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
    ... Not sure it it will work with a Fuji.
     
  6. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    And its a Sigma lens as well.. not sure if it has the same electronic only build.

    I read good things about the Fuji 60mm as a macro lens and it acts as avery good portrait lens as well..
     
  7. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    Could get the 60mm and a Raynox 150 I suppose.... but it really is a shame to lose the Sigma but if it means a lot of messing about i will have to.

    I can see the aperture closing a bit if I turn the ring to 1:1 on the lens. But I don't want to invest in an adaptor if its not worth it.
     
  8. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
  9. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
  10. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    And you wouldn't know what the actual aperture was of course. Wonder if it causes any optical issues. Of course my lens is a Sigma and I'll check again on the Sigma specs to see if it acts like a Canon electronic control lens... it probably does.

    Is the adaptor worth a try do you think ? Or just a get one without an IRIS and just shoot wide open ? Rather than get rid of the lens ?
     
  11. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
    Yes, it will, forget about lens manufacturer, its the mount thats important.

    I wouldnt bother with the adapter. As a macro lens it wont work very well as you cant stop down, as a general purpose portrait lens it would be fine but long at ±160mm equiv.

    Personally, Id sell the lens and buy a different one. Theres lots of nice old MF Nikkors with manual aperture that can be had cheaply.
     
  12. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    I was thinking about Tamron 90mm and not thought about the old Nikkor range. Didn't realise they have manual aperture as well. Weight might be an issue although with macro thats not really that much of one. I'll check some out.
     
  13. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    I'll start a macro thread...
     

Share This Page

Loading...