1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

shuttle or other cube system fo htpc

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by nathsea, May 18, 2005.

1. nathsea

nathsea

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hi

Do any of you use a shuttle or another type of small form factor pc ie aopen cube etc, for your htpc. If so how do you find it, do you use the onboard graphics, are they compatible with mce 2005, most importantly are they quiet?

Many Thanks

Nathan

2. DaveP

DaveP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had one as my first HCPC. The problem is that it has only one PCI slot. I soon found that wasn't enough.

If you want a PC with WAF then the mATX cases are probably a good bet. They will take an AGP card and 3 PCI cards. I'm no expert on PCI-E boards so I can't confirm you get the same number of slots.

Another plus for mATX is you can sometimes use a standard ATX PSU so you can get a virtually silent one. With Shuttles etc you are restricted to the supplies you can use.

Dave

3. Skunkpipe

Skunkpipe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've built one.
    Yes they work fine. Unfortunately they're not quiet as there's a lot of heat to shift out of a small space (even with the (not so) silent PSU upgrade.)
    Is something based around something like the Silverstone LC02 case and a mATX motherboard too big?

4. 888

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a PC set up as a HTPC, but I have both a Shuttle SN41G2 and a Asus Pundit R http://uk.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=1&l2=3&l3=0&model=85&modelmenu=1