Shutter speed seems slow with 400D Flash

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by horribleman, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    I just swapped my D40 for a 400D, and the shutter speed seems really slow with the flash on for indoor shots (enough to give noticable shake).

    Any ideas why this is?
     
  2. vulkan75

    vulkan75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if your using the onboard flash you should be able to select what shutter speed the flash fires at.Its usually 1/60th by default.Depending on your lens you should really think about shutter speed being the same as the focal length of your lens i.e 1/200 for a 200mm lens or 1/70 for 70mm etc etc.

    You can determine the shutter speed/flash firing in the menu somewhere.
     
  3. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    I don't understand :(

    It only seems wrong in Av mode. You can change it to either Auto which is too long or 1/200 which seems a bit fast?
     
  4. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Try the P ( program ) and vary the aperture/shutter combinations, You can also play with the ISO
    It is not a sloooow camera:)
     
  5. john key

    john key
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oldham, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Flash sync speed for the 400D is 1/200. You can go slower than this in the creative modes, or manually, where you might want to use flash for the foreground but expose the background properly as well. You cannot, or should not, go faster than this. Set the camera for full auto with the flash on, and see what it sounds like. In full auto I assume it will set the default sync speed, 1/200. Its usually not advisable to use telephotos with the built in flash, as the end of a long lens can mask part of the flash coverage.
     
  6. allymac123

    allymac123
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +435
    I'd recomend using manual mode with the flash if you want to be able to control the Aperture. That way you can choose any shutter speed from 1/200s to infinity depending on the effect you require.
     
  7. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Is ISO 400 about right for indoors with flash?
     
  8. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Yes
     
  9. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Sorry :( Don't get angry.


    I was used to the D40 which seemed to create great exposures indoors on ISO200.

    I was a bit hung up on using the lowest ISO ever.

    I do have a lot to learn, and I'm feeling a bit in at the deep end now!
     
  10. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Im not angry at all :) Im sorry if I gave that impression.
    I just didn't want to bother you with info you hadn't asked for and give the impression one was impatient, far from it

    Give it a few hrs..( maybe day or 2) you'll be fine. You can use the 400D at lower ISO as well but TBH you can use higher ISO with the canons with confidence , they tend to be very good on the minimal amts of noise at high ISOs

    The 400D is a bit more like the likes of the D50 and D80 in that Playing with and tweaking the settings may be needed to get that Instant "wow"!: It does have it.

    The 40D was "optimised" to get instant punch at default settings , nothing wring with that but for those who want to know how those combo of setting have resulted in a punchy image , they would have to study a lot of exif data to see which settings were chosen by the camera

    Have a look at this site

    especially HERE

    To ease the feeling of OMG what have I done??:hiya:
     
  11. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47

Share This Page

Loading...